Adventure to the GF Patisserie

I sometimes have a lot of difficulty holding myself back when it comes to excellent gluten free baking. Or granola bars. Or chocolate. Sometimes, it’s amazing that I’m not 200+lbs because of all the food I want to eat.

For example, on Saturday, Mr. Bean and I headed out to Cochrane to check out a new found (by me) gluten free bakery called GF Patisserie. They were celebrating their 1 year anniversary, so we started off with a mini piece of very delicious birthday cake.

Had I the choice, I would probably have bought many, many things but I had restraint (my waist thanks me.) There were cakes, brownies, cupcakes, coffee cakes, breads and a whole bunch of other frozen delights – we ended up getting  a mini coffee cake and a loaf of flax bread.

DSC_1706

I think I ate about 3/4 of the loaf of flax bread yesterday. It’s especially good with marmalade:

DSC_1712

Or anything, really. Thankfully, the loaf isn’t that big:

DSC_1707

Hey, if you had bread for the first time in a really long time that had texture similar to what you remember gluten-tastic bread to be like, you’d have difficulty holding back as well.

So, if anyone who reads this is in the Calgary area, the trip out to Cochrane is worth it.

With that all said, I better go back to explaining to Mr. Bean why I got so excited about Darth Vader’s big pretty ship in the Empire Strikes Back.

What types of food do you have difficulty restraining yourself from pigging out on?

8 Comments

Filed under Food

8 responses to “Adventure to the GF Patisserie

  1. Mmm…that bread looks delicious! I’m the same way when I find good gluten-free baked goods…I want to eat everything!

  2. Tammy

    Now I am curious as to why you got excited about Darth Vader’s big pretty ship!

    And my weakness: potatoes. Mmmm. >.>

  3. stopping by from SITS.
    food……yikes i love it all…..but i have to say sweets is where i have issues i want to eat them all!!!!:0)

  4. Popped in from SITS to say hi!

  5. Wow, that does look yummy!!
    I have trouble resisting cookies that look homemade. Like at Subway—yay for a low-calorie lunch….until I get to the checkout and they have the yummy choc chip cookies waiting for me! AND they always convince me I should buy three cause it’s a better deal, but there’s only two of us eating together so I have to eat one before I even get home so there is just one each!!! Shh…don’t tell! 🙂

  6. Bagels! Seriously, it’s been so long since I’ve had one and I’m scared to because I KNOW one will lead to 10. It’s my crack.

Leave a Reply

