Celebration of Sorts

Well, I’m really starting to wrap up my internship. I handed in my report mid July, gave my presentation last Wednesday and had my job interview this afternoon*. I feel less stressed now that it’s over – thank you for the good wishes and prayers! Sadly, if I think about all those things too much, this is what happens:

But now that those things are over, what am I going to do to celebrate? Well, I’m going to eat Creme Brulee, of course. (It’s a logical step, isn’t it?) But this Creme Brulee is dairy free, delicious and delightfully easy.

Dairy Free Creme Brulee

2 c. Coconut Milk
1/2 c. sugar
5 eggs
1/2 tbsp. vanilla

  1. Heat oven to 350F.
  2. Heat Coconut Milk in a pot to about 175F (A candy thermometer works well – you want to heat it up to the stop right before it starts simmering.)
  3. Meanwhile, beat eggs and sugar together with a whisk.
  4. Pour hot milk into eggs a little bit at a time, whisking constantly. Don’t pour in too much as you don’t want little chunks of cooked eggs in the custard.
  5. Stir in the vanilla and strain custard through a fine sieve.
  6. Pour custard into 4-6 ramekins (depending on the size) and place in a pan that is at least 2″ deep.
  7. Create a water bath by pouring water into the pan to surround the ramekins with ~ 1″ of water.
  8. Cook until middles are only slightly jiggly, about 25-30 minutes.
  9. Cool and place in fridge.
  10. When you want to make the “brulee” part of this dessert, evenly pour 1-2 tsp. of sugar on each custard. You can either cook it under a broiler until bubbly and caramelized or use a blow torch.
  11. Enjoy!

DSC_1423

*I won’t find out if I got a job or not for a few weeks – I’m okay with either result. I believe that if God wants me to be working at this company again, then I will be and if not, he’ll open new pathways for me to follow.

7 Comments

Filed under Baking

7 responses to “Celebration of Sorts

  1. Congrats on wrapping stuff up and getting closer to the next chapter of your life. These seal pics are so cute. Oh, this Creme Brulee sounds so good. I will have to try it!

    Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Congrats on getting your internship all done and the job interview over with. The waiting is the worst part but something good should come out of it all.

  3. Congratulations on finishing your internship! You must be so relieved! That smile photo is completely adorable. I love it!

    I definitely want to try that Creme Brulee. It looks amazing!

  4. You have such a wonderful positive attitude about the outcome of the job interview. Best of luck!

  5. Love your attitude! And I might have a new motto “When life gives you stress… eat creme brulee!”

  6. Pingback: SECRET RECIPE CLUB: GLUTEN-FREE & VEGAN RASPBERRY BARS | Bewitching Kitchen

Leave a Reply

