Saturday`s Wedding

Thanks to all of you who helped me decide what to wear to the wedding on Saturday. Since it was ridiculously hot (33C – 91F), I wore my white and black swirl dress. Poor Mr. Bean in his suit.

DSC_1505

One of my favourite parts of the wedding was when the groomsmen took their swords and created a salute bridge (what is the proper term for this?) It was very appropriate as both of them go to various parks throughout the city and sword fight.

DSC_1500

Their flower girl stole the show. She is so cute!

DSC_1582

They had a very beautiful cake – is it bad that when I saw it the first thing I thought was “I could have made that!”

DSC_1549

Here is my favourite photo of the evening – it wasn’t intentional but somehow it worked out really well.

DSC_1576

It’s interesting going to a wedding as a married person – instead of being “Oh! I want that in my wedding” or “Oh, I’m going to not do that,” etc. (the story of my life last year – when went to a ridiculously large amount of weddings before ours last summer) I feel like I can enjoy what it happening without feeling competitive.

Been to any weddings lately?

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “Saturday`s Wedding

  1. What an adorable little girl. At my SIL’s wedding the flowergirl heard about the father/daughter dance and said that was when she got to dance with her daddy.

    The sword salute is kinda funny seeing as how the best man, is called that because traditionally he was the best swordsman whose job was to keep the bride’s family back until the ceremony was over.

  2. bluecottonmemory

    My oldest son married in June–an outdoor wedding on the hottest day of summer 102 degrees–in formal attire! I was literally one hot mama!

    I bet she’s going to love your pictures!

  3. I had been to so few weddings before my own. In fact I think the only wedding we went to together was so boring it defined the fact that we did NOT want to go the traditional route.

    I’m the photographer for a friend’s (7th) wedding in September as his wedding gift. And the bride is getting all bridezilla-esk (it’s her 1st). So it might be an interesting ceremony. She wants me to get a picture of the groom’s first sight of her as she enters the chapel. I’m concerned that after 6 priors, there just wont be that much magic in his eyes.

    I love the sword salute BTW.

  4. You look great in the dress! My favorite wedding was a Jewish wedding I went to a few years ago. I’m not Jewish, but the wedding was so amazing, I considered converting. A great celebration!

  5. This stage too will pass, and then you will be seeing all the new options and trends, and wishing you could do it ALL OVER AGAIN!

  6. zoliepup

    Our most recent was ours! I can’t wait for the next one though. I imagine every wedding gives you another opportunity to renew your love to each other!

  7. how cute! and YES you could have made a killer cake! I love the baby shower cake you made 🙂 Too cute! Hope you are well my friend!! xo

Leave a Reply

