Baby Shower Cake

Today was a baby shower for this 13 day old cutey:

DSC_1657

I took it upon  myself to make a suitable cake for the Winnie-the-Pooh themed shower, so I made a “honey” themed cake.

For the cake I used a gluten free version of this honey lemon cake with cream cheese icing and fresh raspberries as filling.

DSC_1621

It had a little honey pot:

DSC_1617

And bees on wires:

DSC_1616

DSC_1659

It also had a really happy circle border around the bottom:

DSC_1618

Overall, it was a very fun cake!

Someone had also brought these very awesome looking cookies. They’re so cute that I really wished that I could eat one!

DSC_1627

The bees and the honey pot were made with gum paste and the flowers and writing were made from fondant. Apparently fondant is quite a novelty to anyone between the ages of 2 and 10 because it’s just like play-dough but you can eat it!

13 Comments

Filed under Baking

13 responses to “Baby Shower Cake

  1. Very cute cake! And I love the idea of having a shower after the baby’s born… seems for fun that way.

  2. Ack! So adorable. I love your cakes.

  3. As soon as I saw it I thought ooh Winnie the Pooh. I love the honey pot, so adorable and all the little bees.

    Bees are okay, but wasps are evil, evil evil!

  4. Pingback: Baby Shower Cake « Without Adornment | MyBabyShowerStore.com

  5. PRECIOUS!!! Saying hi from SITS!

  6. zoliepup

    Great job! If you link to my photographer’s blog through my blog, you can see my sister’s cupcakes for our wedding 😉

  7. That cake is adorable!!! I’ve always wished I could decorate cakes, but I can’t even put the little candy letters on in a straight line! Hehe! Just stopping over from SITS! Have a great day!

  8. Wow! What a cute cake!!! You do such a good job!

  9. What a great job you did on these cakes! Stopping by from SITS!

  10. Pingback: Babies Everywhere! « Without Adornment

  11. Pingback: Pumpkin Delights Part 1 « Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

