Letters from Bean

Dear Anxiety,

You are like the carpenter’s ants in the foundation of my mind’s “house.” I would like to get rid of you but my pest control is severely lacking. I especially want you to go away for the next few weeks. You are not welcome at my presentation this Wednesday – I do a good enough job of being tongue tied and making a fool of myself already, thank you very much. I also need to you be gone the following Wednesday as you’re really difficult to be around and make job interviews even more unpleasant. I can always wish that you were out of my “house” completely and forever, but you persist relentlessly. Please leave me alone until at least August 6th, okay?

Thanks,

Bean

Dear Confidence and Selfย  Esteem,

I miss you both greatly – when are you coming back? When you left 9 months ago, you almost destroyed me. I know that having a 9 month Caribbean vacation is preferable to Calgary, but the weather is getting nicer in hopes of drawing you back. I hear that the next two Wednesdays are supposed to be gorgeous, so perhaps I can tempt you to please come visit me? We can go out for dinner – my treat – and spend the evening by the pool if you’d please meet me by noon both days.

Thinking of you and missing you both terribly,

love,

Bean

8 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

8 responses to “Letters from Bean

  1. Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest” in your comment.

  2. hotpieceofsass

    Haha! I love this post. Wish you the best on both occasions.
    Happy SITS Sharefest Saturday ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I love this post. Unfortunately, in my experience, Anxiety and Confidence hate being in the same room together. Why can’t they just get along? Or at least Confidence should just punch Anxiety in the face.

  4. Chรจre

    Oh, I can so relate to this post. I hope your “friends” take you up on your dinner invite! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. bluecottonmemory

    I’ve found that sometimes anxiety sharpens where confidence sometimes weakens, not allowing us to listen to that little voice within. Maybe both together in moderation keep each other in check:)

    Best of luck!

  6. Dear Bean,

    You are not alone. My thoughts are prayers are with you.

    Love, Kaitlyn

  7. Thanks for linking these up on my site!! I do letters every Thursday if you want to come back for more!

Leave a Reply

