Cabin Weekend

Over the weekend, Mr. Bean and I headed out to the cabin for the night to get away from the city. We didn’t get in until fairly late but that just means neat fire photography.

DSC_1291

It’s like we have a welding shop in our fire pit!

DSC_1292

DSC_1316

In case you haven’t guessed, I absolutely ADORE swimming. Even in really cold bodies of water – like a glacier fed river for example.

DSC_1339

My sister recently got back from visiting Quebec with her boyfriend and all the river water is brown. Apparently that’s because the water comes from/goes through swamps. (yuck!) I’ll take bloody cold clear glacier water any day!

Some of our neighbours have llamas. They are crazy and they want to eat my parent’s dog. On Saturday, they couldn’t do much more than flomp – I can’t blame them as it was pretty hot.

DSC_1333

We also have a resident deer in our yard – he lives underneath the front deck. He’s quite the adventurer – he tried to go explore the garage:

DSC_1330

Fortunately, the deer problem is less than on Vancouver Island. (Random tangent: A rabbit had made its home in my parent’s front garden until my brother went and threw a fence post at it. It hasn’t been back since.)

You might guess what the cabin looks like from looking at the garage – what do red, wooden buildings remind you of? That’s right, the cabin looks somewhat like a barn:

DSC_1344

I guess it’s somewhat suiting for a family of animals like us.

What do you think about deer/rabbits/animal population that has taken residience in your city?

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography

6 responses to “Cabin Weekend

  1. globalinternational

    beautiful place , very nice photos , i love animals like this , very nice blog.

  2. Tammy

    I remember when I lived in Hillhurst with Janna, I got off the bus one day and was greeted by a coyote, whom seemed very indifferent about my presence. After trying to call it over (I have no idea why I did so! Just something you do with dog-like animals? He never listened though) we walked for about 1/4 block before we parted ways. It was weird though, because I am very used to the country, where coyotes are scared of humans. But even the ones here are getting braver.

    P.S. I love your cabin! When I was little, I dreamed of turning one of those old barns into a house! I even drew blueprints on some graph paper!

    • Haha! That is so awesome – I’m glad I’m not the only one who drew blueprints to buildings growing up. 🙂

      It is quite a weird thing when animals that should be afraid aren’t, but I guess that is what happens when there are no predators.

  3. Beautiful Homestead! Visiting from SITS.

  4. Wow…it’s gorgeous there. I love your pics and I’ve never seen a deer just hanging around the yard like a pet or something…how funny!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  5. Cool pictures! …and I am super jealous that you got to take a Wilton class. I can’t imagine making those flowers.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today.

Leave a Reply

