Stampede Party 2009

Currently in Calgary, it is Stampede time, which means free pancake breakfasts* and work stampede parties! It also means that lots of people are dressed in western garb – including cowboy hats!

A while ago, the city was handing out free cowboy hats and one of the other interns and I went and picked some up. We weren’t pleased with the boring white hat with black ribbon, so on Tuesday at lunch we brought supplies and decorated our hats. There’s no way better to show off your company pride then to put its name in rhinestones on your hat.

Here’s my hat:

HPIM2122

HPIM2123

Please don’t mind my incredibly messy desk. I have difficulty keeping it clean.

And here we are at our work’s party:

HPIM2124

Does your city/town have any special annual events?

*Today was an uber stampede day for me – in the morning I volunteered at our building’s stampede breakfast (one of my 101 things) and then the work party that started at lunch!

9 Comments

Filed under Life

9 responses to “Stampede Party 2009

  1. Coolest. work. event. ever.

  2. That is one awesome cowboy hat. Man I wish our city handed out free hats sometimes.

  3. my, that is… interesting. Haha.

  4. We have something called the American Royal…and it’s cowboy-related, but don’t ask me more than that. I don’t go and I don’t know what they do. LOL I think growing up in a small town where people wore cowboy hats on the “reg” wore me out of anything “country”. I’m popping over from SITS roll call. Happy Friday!

  5. You know, your blog banner looks exactly like where I live in Dorset, UK!

    I have put you down to host go ahead honey in Feb 2010 with the theme tropical holiday. Can I sugest one caveat, that you encourage people to use local/seasonal produce even though they are dreaming of the tropics? It’s a lovely idea, but I’d really appreciate the nod to global thinking and food miles.

    Let me know if you’re still up for it. x x x

  6. Oh, so fun! I love, love, love your hats. You are just too cute. We have Art Fair coming up next week. http://www.artfair.org/ It’s actually several art fairs all together. I’m told that about 500,000 people come into town for the event. According to Wikipedia “Ann Arbor is has a population of 114,024 as of the 2000 Census, of which 36,892 (32%) are university or college students”

  7. My husband and I spent a part of our honeymoon in Calgary during the Stampede party time! How funny!

  8. Pingback: 101 in 1001 Conclusion | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

