I’m back!

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to go wander around the field because it was too muddy. (Read: even quads get stuck.) So, I don’t have any pictures of really exciting field type things – like separators, batteries (the mini refinery place), wellheads and pumpjacks. I’m a bit bummed. But, I guess on the bright side, I did learn a fair amount while doing the well review and I got to meet some of the field guys.

To make up for the lack of oil field related pictures, I’ll show you how oddly mesorizing pumpjacks can be:

I did take some pictures to give you all an augenblick of Northern(esque) Alberta:

hpim2006

hpim2008

hpim1999

hpim2001

hpim2004

Everything was pretty dead looking – only the pine trees were green.

The town we stayed in had a sawmill. I have never seen a bigger pile of wood in my life:

hpim20031

The creepiest thing about this trip is that there may or may not have been a bullet hole in the comforter on one of the beds in my hotel room. What do you think it is?

hpim2014Needless to say, I slept in the other bed.

3 Comments

Filed under Life

3 responses to “I’m back!

  1. Hm, looks like a cigar burn to me. Though I did find a bullet chip in the fence right outside the White House the one time I visited, that was interesting.

  2. That’s what Mr. Bean suggested – but wouldn’t a cigar/cigarette burn leave some kind of charred remains?

  3. Rae

    I’m going with the cigarette burn as well. I think that it would have left remains… but the staff might have just washed it and put it back?! In any case, it doesn’t look like they care much about the rooms.

Leave a Reply

