Wilton I: Class 1

With this cake decorating class,  I want to give a run down of what happens in each lesson, so anxious people like me will know what to expect. Unfortunately, there’s not much cake decorating in the first lesson, which means no pictures taken by me.  😦

So what did we do? Well, we were told how to do things properly by the “Wilton Method.” Our instructor showed us how to make the appropriate icing, how to ice a cake, what things we will be learning and what materials we need. In my previous post, I had a picture of the kit that you can buy for the course. Little did I know that in addition to the mini kit, I need all this extra stuff.

So what am I going to do? Well, I’m going to return the kit in favour of these:

101 Piece Tool Caddy

A Turn Table

A Turn Table

More Coupler Rings

More Couplers for Icing Bags

Meringue Powder for Icing

Meringue Powder for Icing

Plus cake boards, piping gel and a few duplicate tips to make my life easier. (Apparently, anyways.)

So, if you’re planning on taking a cake decorating course, be prepared to have to buy a lot of things. Even though I’m pretty sure that I want to continue with the other Wilton courses*, I suffered a bit of sticker shock – thank goodness Michaels has coupons!

*Our instructor told us that the tool kit will be most of what we require for all three Wilton Cake Decorating Courses.

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Wilton I: Class 1

  1. Damn that’s a lot of stuff. The spreaders are reminding me of the different pallet knives I use for paintings.

    I don’t know if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. Maybe it’s just a switzerland thing.

  2. I really cannot wait to hear more about your cake decorating classes. I have wanted to do something like this, but never have. I do have to supah cheap Betty Crocker tips. I believe there are four — one for writing, a star shape, a flat one for leaves and another one I can’t think of since I have never used it.

    Anyway, I am a massive novice but I have three small girls who think I can decorate cakes based on any direction they give me.

    So far I think I have them fooled that I know what I’m doing, even though I don’t.

    Looking forward to hearing more!

Leave a Reply

