Tonight’s Dinner

Mr. Bean is off at a work dinner, so I was all alone. I thought that I would share!

hpim1669

On the  menu:

  • Campbell’s Basil and Oregano Tomato Soup (Gluten free!)
  • Spinach Salad
  • Gluten, egg and dairy free bacon cornmeal biscuits

Spinach Salad:

  • Hand full of spinach
  • Strawberry, sliced
  • Mushroom, sliced
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Olive Oil
  1. Place spinach, strawberries and mushroom on a plate or a bowl
  2. Mix olive oil and balsamic vinegar in a container and drizzle over salad. (I used approximately the same amount of each.)

hpim1653

Gluten, egg and dairy free bacon cornmeal biscuits

3/4 c. brown rice flour
1/4 c. white sorghum flour
1/4 c. potato starch
1/4 c. tapioca starch
1 tsp. sugar (optional)
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. xathan gum
1/2 c. cornmeal
1/3 c. shortening
3 – 6 slices of bacon*, cooked and crumbled
1 egg substitute
3/4 c. potato milk
2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

  1. Cook bacon, paper towel off all excess grease and crumble.
    hpim1641
  2. Heat oven to 450F. Measure potato milk and apple cider vinegarand let sit for 10 minutes to thicken.
  3. Shift together flours, xanthan gum, salt, sugar and leavening agents.
  4. Mix in cornmeal into flours.
  5. Cut shortening into flours with a pastry blender until shortening is pea sized.
    hpim1647
  6. Mix in bacon.
  7. Add in egg replacement and potato milk until dough pulls away from the side of the bowl.
  8. Knead dough quickly 8-10 times. Place on a floured board and pat out until about 1/2″ – 3/4″ thick.
    hpim1648
  9. Cut into squares and then diagonally slice them in half.
  10. Put on a cookie sheet and cook for 12-15 minutes.
    hpim1649
  11. Once biscuits are done, put in towel. Enjoy!
    hpim1660

hpim1667

*Note, if you don’t want to use bacon, you can use ham, raisins, currents, cheese or whatever you can think of! I used bacon because I wanted some protein and it was the only meat readily available.

4 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food, Life

4 responses to “Tonight’s Dinner

  1. Wait. Back up. Are your plates the Denby “Jet Stripes” set?!?!?!? Say it ain’t so!!

    You have no idea how much I LUSTED over a mixed set of the Jet Stripes and Jet Dots. I FANTASIED. I DROOLED. I never knew I could feel such passion towards an inanimate object off of which I would just be eating. I wanted. I NEEDED.

    And then, my mother shot me down, and told me it was too expensive of a set since I was also getting a full set of pricey china (why she has a say in how we or other spend their money as gifts, I still cannot figure out), and she forbid me from getting it. Seriously. As in, pitched a hissy fit and said if I registered for them, she would never come to my house again (which REALLY made me want to buy the set even more) so my husband told me that dishes weren’t worth a family feud, and alas, we wound up just buying some mediocre dishes from CB2 a few months after the wedding when I finally couldn’t stand our mismatched, extremely chipped sets from undergrad anymore.

    In other words… I LOVE your plates!

  2. Wow, that is a really fancy but still comfort food type dinner for cooking for one.

    You have much more gumption to work that hard for a dinner on your own than I do. I’d probably just microwave some popcorn and call it good.

  3. Julie – yes they are Denby “Jet Stripes” plates. I really like them!

    That’s really annoying with your mum – in my experience with gift registries, you can put whatever you feel like on your registry, but if it is too much, then you probably won’t get it. Besides, plates are something that you’re going to use for a long time!

    Sabrina – Thanks! The weird thing is if I don’t make myself a specific dinner, I end up snacking all night and eating too much!

  4. These biscuits look awesome!! Can you tell me what potato milk is? Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

