Gluten and Dairy Free Sponge Cake

On Saturday, there was a party for my friends who had just gotten their iron rings. I was going to bring this cake, but since I thought it was a complete failure because it was so thin, I made a cake mix cake instead. I took this to my family dinner on Sunday and it was a success!

Sponge Cake from the Joy of Cooking – adapted by yours truly.

1/4 c. Tapioca Starch
1/4 c. Potato Starch
1/3 c. Brown Rice Flour
Heaping 1/2 tsp. of xathan gum
1 1/2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 scant c. sugar
4 large eggs, separated
1/4 c. boiling water
1 tsp. grated lemon or orange zest
1 tbsp. orange or lemon juice
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. cream of tartar

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line bottoms of two 8 or 9 inch pans with wax or parchment paper. This recipe works best if everything (excluding the water) is at room temperature.

2. Beat egg whites and cream of tartar until stiff but not dry and set aside. (You could do this right before you mix in the egg whites – before step 8 –  if you have two bowls, but I didn’t, so I did the less messy task first and to keep the egg whites uncontaminated.)

3. Sift flours, xathan gum, baking powder and salt. (note: flours should make approximately 1 c.)

4. Beat egg yolks until thickened, about 1 minute.

5. Gradually beat in sugar, then beat 3 minutes longer.

6. Beat in boiling water and then zest, juice and vanilla.

7. At low speed, gradually beat in sifted ingredients.

8. Fold 1/4 of the whites into the batter, then fold in the remaining whites.

9. Scrape batter into pans and spread evenly. Bake for approximately 25 minutes or until cake tester inserted in the centre comes out clean.

10. Place cakes upside down on rack until cool. Once they are cool, you are free to remove them, ice them, etc. I cut strawberries into slices and put them in between each layer and served them with thawed frozen blueberries and raspberries and it was the perfect sweetness.

Note: Please don’t be like me and freak out when you cake is only 3/4″ – 1+” thick – it’s supposed to be that way!

I took these photos with my mum’s spiffy work camera and I can’t get enough of them. It makes it look SOO good! (Man, I should really get a nice camera or something for myself.)

dsc_3099

dsc_3103

dsc_3097

dsc_3101

1 Comment

Filed under Baking

One response to “Gluten and Dairy Free Sponge Cake

  1. I don’t know why but that last picture puts me in mind of a deep dish pizza.

    What are Iron Rings?

Leave a Reply

