February Food Challenge – Part 2

As I mentioned previously, I did this month’s challenge in two parts. The second part was making a strawberry cake for my bible study.

The cake was strawberry cake from scratch from Good Things Catered.

I replaced the cake flour with:
1 1/4 c. Brown Rice Flour
1/2 c. Tapioca Starch
1/2 c. Potato Starch
1 tsp. xathan gum

The icing was strawberry cream cheese icing minus the pecans.

Unfortunately, I made the mistake of using light cream cheese. DO NOT DO THIS! It is a mistake and the icing never quite thickened like it should have. It was one of the causes of my “really bad day of February,” so don’t do that to yourself! (The other was how vista and my printer were against me printing my assignment properly.)

I forgot to take a picture before the cake was cut, but I took a picture the day after. It looks a bit gumpy, but it’s very tasty!

hpim1394

Have you tried to make anything pink before?

1 Comment

Filed under Baking

One response to “February Food Challenge – Part 2

  1. Pingback: February Food Challenge Results: Pink and Red | That Wife

Leave a Reply

