Gluten, Dairy and Egg Free Apple Cake

Almost every week, Mr. Bean and I go over to my parents house for dinner on Sundays. Since I am kind of on a baking spree, I decided to make a cake that everyone could eat. The recipe is from my newest favourite cookbook, The Joy of Cooking.

Apple Cake

1 c. Brown Rice Flour
1/4 c. Tapioca Starch
1/4 c. Potato Starch
1 tsp. Xathan gum
1 c. brown sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. ground cloves
1 tsp. ground cinnamon (note: I left this out because my mum is deathly allergic to cinnamon)
1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt
1 c. buttermilk (I used 1 tbsp. of lemon juice and the remainder potato milk and let them sit on the counter for 10 minutes. It could also be done with rice, soy, nut, etc. milks)
1/2 c. olive oil
2 tbsp. brandy (optional – the alcohol cooks off, so that’s why I added it.)
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. chopped apples (tart apples with peels preferred)
1/2 c. chopped pecans (could also use walnuts)

1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease and flour an 8-inch square baking pan. (I used a 9-inch round pan as they pretty much have the same surface area.)

2. Whisk together all the dry ingredients, pinching out any lumps in the brown sugar.

3. Add the “buttermilk”, oil, brandy and vanilla and stir until smooth.

4. Stir in the apples and nuts.

5. Scrape batter into pan and spread evenly.

6. Bake about 40 – 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

We ate ours plain (and it was very tasty), but you could eat it warm with vanilla ice cream or with a white or butterscotch icing.

hpim1383

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Gluten, Dairy and Egg Free Apple Cake

  1. Ooh apple cake. That stuff is great.

    I’m amazed at how you can find so many gluten free recipes. It can’t be easy.

  2. Sabrina – I actually just use normal recipes and adapt them. They’re usually a bit different from the gluten-tastic thing, but that’s okay. I have only one gluten-free cook book and the only time I’ve used it is for advice on flour mixtures and how to make “buttermilk”. Maybe I’ll actually use one of the recipes one day.

Leave a Reply

