Gluten and Dairy Free Chiffon Cake with Orange Icing

For some reason, I am on a cake baking spree. So, the latest cake is from my Joy of Cooking book that my sister got me for Christmas. (I highly recommend it – there is lots of useful information in it – apparently one of my friends reads it while eating his breakfast, much to his wife’s amusement.)

I was looking for a cake without eggs, but that really isn’t possible*, so I went for a cake without dairy but would be super light – a chiffon cake.

Chiffon Cake

1 c. brown rice flour
1/2 c. potato starch
1/2 c. tapioca starch
1 tsp. xathan gum
1 1/4 c. sugar
1 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
8 eggs, separated
3/4 c. water
1/2 c. oil (note: use oil that doesn’t have much of a taste to it – ie. n0t olive. I used canola oil.)
1 tsp. grated lemon zest – optional
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
1/4 c. sugar

Note: This recipe works best if everything is at room temperature.

1. Preheat oven to 325F and get out your 10″ tube pan or 13x9x2 pan.

2. Shift the flours together. Whisk together the dry ingredients.

3. Add 5 egg yolks, water, oil, lemon zest and vanilla to dry ingredients and beat until smooth. (Note: I did this part using a whisk, so I could use my mixer for the egg whites.)

4. Beat 8 egg whites and cream of tartar until soft peaks form.

5. Add second amount of sugar to eggs and beat until the whites are so stiff they begin to lose some of their gloss.

6. Fold 1/4 of egg mixture into batter with a spatula, then the remaining whites.

7. Scrape batter into pan and spread evenly.

8. Bake for 55-65 mins or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let the cake cool upside down for at least 1 1/2 hours or until room temperature before icing.

photos-from-camera-324

Can you believe that is gluten free?

I wanted to try to make a cooked icing, so I made luscious orange boiling icing, also from the Joy of Cooking. On hindsight, I should have put a little yellow and red food colouring, for orange juice can only do so much.

Lucious Orange Icing

1 c. sugar
1/2 c. sugar
1 tbsp. light corn syrup
3 egg whites
1/8 tsp. cream of tartar
1/4 c. confectioners sugar
1 tsp. grated orange zest
1 tbsp. orange juice (perferably fresh)

1. Stir in a small heavy sauce pan the first three ingredients until sugar is dissolved, then bring to a boil.

2. Meanwhile, beat whites and cream of tartar until stiff. Once they are stiff, turn mixer down to lowest speed and continue to beat.

3. Turn heat down to low and cover.

4. Once eggs are ready, uncover syrup mixture and cook to 238-240F, the soft ball stage. (Candy thermometers are your friend!)

5. Dip bottom of saucepan into cold water for 1 second to stop the cooking.

6. Beating the eggs at high speed, at the syrup in a slow, thin stream. Beat for 10 minutes until cooled.

7. Add confectioners sugar, orange zest and orange juice. (And food colouring if so desired.)

8. Beat icing into a spreading consistency and use right away.

The cake got rave reviews from my family, except they found the icing to be too sweet. It’s a fairly moist cake as now it is two days later and it’s not dry!

photos-from-camera-325

photos-from-camera-326

photos-from-camera-328

*I actually bought some egg replacer stuff the day after I made this cake. I’m looking forward to making a gluten, dairy and egg free cake for my family!

Man, I really should get a better camera. Or better lights in my house. Any suggestions?

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Gluten and Dairy Free Chiffon Cake with Orange Icing

  1. My goodness, it seems like you have to jump through so many hoops in order to bake– yet you still bake such yummy-looking things 🙂

  2. Kathryn

    This looks and sounds incredible!! I’ll had to try this soon. I just ordered a bundt pan, I’ll give it a try in that. Thank you for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

