I guess there are some redeeming features…

… my appointment with the psychiatrist has been moved up to February 11th! It’s kind of scary that one has to be a real threat to themselves before they take priority.

I’ve been doing my best to not sit around by myself to prevent negative thought spirals. (It’s sometimes hard at work.) Anyone have any suggestions to keep myself from thinking about that? Unfortunately, I cannot watch Law and Order SVU at work. I have tried to fill my social calendar as a safety net.

I’m currently taking a course at school, but I haven’t been able to go to the last two classes because I was too dizzy to do anything or at the hospital. It’s good thing I went tonight for I learned that my assignment is due next Tuesday! For a moment I thought it was due today and I had a mini freak-out.

My counsellor is on vacation next week and that makes me sad. So, I’m going to get my nails done instead. (I don’t really follow the logic,  but my mum suggested it and who am I to say no?)

What do you do when you’re feeling poorly/sorry for yourself?

On a random note: I have a penpal in Russia that I am terrible at writing to, but we found each other on facebook! She wanted me to come and meet her in Virgina two years ago – but I didn’t. Maybe I’ll  and visit her in Russia, but the travel warnings for lone tourists aren’t really that great. But at least if I wanted to stay there for over three months, I would pass the test for not having HIV. (Scroll down to Health Entry Requirements.)

4 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

4 responses to “I guess there are some redeeming features…

  1. Shesh, the lines for doctors are just staggering sometimes.

    It’s no real wonder we have random shootings if everyone is stuck waiting that long.

    I guess when I am feeling sorry for myself or having negative thoughts I just try to find something funny and comforting to laugh at. Or I try to help make someone laugh. But that’s just me.

  2. Oh, I do hope you feel better very, very soon!

    I find when I have negative thoughts that praying or reading a verse can help. I carry around a few verses written on note cards, and I have a prayer on one as well. When I need to, I bring one out and read it really quickly to center myself 🙂

  3. Pingback: January Health Challenge « Without Adornment

  4. blythewhite

    Hi Bean,

    I followed you here from That Wife (and Weddingbee). I saw that you’re Christian (so am I) and depressed (so am I). It’s horrible when meds cause adverse reactions.

    What I found really helpful, aside from having verses in mind (or going on biblegateway.net), when feeling low and sorry for myself is journaling. Like old school, pen and pretty blank book journaling. It can even just be a couple lines. That way, you acknowledge your sadness, but then you move on; you don’t let it rule you. There’s something weird about the act of writing, in that it can help you to let go of things.

    I’ll be praying for you (with empathy). Feel free to stop by blog and say hi. I have a whole post on my depression (entitled ‘breaking the silence’).

Leave a Reply

