Update: The Chocolate Cake Challenge – Gluten Free AND Dairy Free Style

In case there are any of you interested in making the recipe I used for the Chocolate Cake Challenge but wonder about a dairy free variety, wait no longer! (Note: This variation is going to be less sweet than the original, but that’s probably better for us anyways. 🙂 )

Cake Variation:
Instead of using 1/2 c. butter, use 1/2 c. dairy free margerine or shortening. Substitute 1 c. dairy free dark chocolate for the white chocolate. Proceed as Normal.

Frosting Variation:
Obviously, the cream cheese icing will not work. I suggest Chocolate Banana Frosting instead. Just substitute the butter with margerine and the milk with a milk substitute. Or, any dairy-free chocolate frosting can be used.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Baking

3 responses to “Update: The Chocolate Cake Challenge – Gluten Free AND Dairy Free Style

  1. I would have a hard time without cream cheese frosting. As in, in Heaven, I think you’ll be able to eat it. Because it won’t be a feast without it 🙂

  2. Taryn

    Hey Christine,

    I was just randomly looking at your blog. I thought I’d mention that if you’re making dairy-free cakes (or other baked goods) you should look at some vegan cookbooks. Some of the cook books are gluten free as well.

    You can get dairy free cream cheese at places like planet organic. It doesn’t taste exactly the same, but I can’t tell the difference in baking. Good thing, ’cause I looovee cream cheese icing. 🙂

  3. Taryn – thanks for sharing! I’ll have to look at that sometimes. I have to admit that I have shied away from vegan stuff because it doesn’t have any eggs in it and eggs are really important in keeping gluten free baking products together. But I think I’ll take a look!

Leave a Reply

