January: The Chocolate Cake Challenge – Gluten Free Style

Every month, Jenna at That Wife holds a food challenge. This month’s challenge is to make the best chocolate cake.

Let’s start off with saying that I love baking and wanted to join the challenge BUT I hate chocolate cake. I guess I’m weird that I’m very picky about what chocolaty things I consume. But not one to opt out, I decided to bend the rules and make a white chocolate cake. Food Network’s Banana White Chocolate cake complete with cream cheese icing to be exact.

To go against my own convention, I followed the recipe perfectly except that I used 1 1/2 c. of rice flour, 1/2 c. of tapioca flour, 1/2 c. of potato flour and 1 tsp of xathan gum as a substitute for the 2 1/2 c. of cake flour.

Well, I baked and iced the cake this evening and it’s basically a glorified banana bread with white chocolate but it is REALLY tasty. At least if Mr. Bean’s reaction is anything to go by. Now for pictures:

hpim1340

hpim1343

hpim1344

hpim1349

hpim1351

Those are white chocolate shavings on top.

8 Comments

Filed under Baking

8 responses to “January: The Chocolate Cake Challenge – Gluten Free Style

  1. limeandlemon

    looks sooo delicious .. great job .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. Oh yum. I love me some chocolate, but I can get behind this as well! 🙂

  3. Just wanted to tell you that you are sweet for updating your link to my new blog in this post 🙂 I love trackback pings for that very reason. I’m so happy you made a gluten-free version, I wonder if my sister can adopt it. She is dairy free though so it would be harder….

  4. Jenna – since it is white chocolaty, it can’t be… BUT…
    If she makes the cake batter without the white chocolate (and/or uses carob chips or extremely dark chocolate pieces) and dairy free margerine instead of butter there is the cake. The frosting might be a bit more difficult as it’s cream cheese, but if she makes dairy free chocolate icing (I think it’s possible – use dairy free margerine, cocao, icing sugar and some milk substitute) Then it could be passable.
    I also found this recipe: Chocolate Banana Frosting: http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/356/Chocolate-Banana-Frosting91599.shtml that could potentially work really well if she substituted the butter for margerine and the milk for a milk substitute. I’d be interested in seeing the results if she ever decides to try to make it! 🙂

  5. I loved Number Crunchers! That game was awesome. It just doesn’t get the same amount of love as Oregon Trail did.

  6. Sabrina – that’s because it had to do with math and you didn’t get to shoot wild animals. Too bad, really.

  7. Pingback: Update: The Chocolate Cake Challenge - Gluten Free AND Dairy Free Style « Without Adornment

  8. Pingback: That Wife Food Challenge January Results: Chocolate Cake | That Wife

Leave a Reply

