Guess What Didn’t Come in the Mail?

You’ve guessed right. My new lappy. Alas. Dell was supposed to email me if it wasn’t shipped and they didn’t and purolator couldn’t get a case and a USB key to the nearest store to my house for 4 days. Needless, I’m not too impressed, but it’ll arrive soon. (It better… or grumble.)

But enough complaining, for I have a confession to make. I am a closet Abba fan. Ever since I was looking through my parent’s record collection as a preteen and seeing the Abba boots* and taking a listen, I was hooked.

When I was in Berlin before my 17th Birthday during my exchange, we went to a karaoke bar and guess what we sang? Dancing Queen. So it seemed fitting that Mr. Bean got me Mamma Mia for Christmas. Since then, I’ve been hitting up You Tube listening to various songs. I really should just go out and get a CD.

Apparently I’m not the only one in my family who is an Abba fan. My mum usually plays hockey with a bunch of women twice a week and every year before Christmas they have a 3 on 3 tournament where they all dress up according to a certain theme. This year’s theme was the 70s and she decided to go as one of the ladies from Abba. Unfortunately, she was having problems with her neck and was unable to go, but the ladies gave her a CD which was a compilation of all the ladies’ favourite 70s songs. Guess what song my mum chose? Gimme, Gimme, Gimme (a man after midnight). We were listening to the CD as we made dinner the other night and when it came on, both my mum and I danced around the kitchen, much to Mr. Bean’s amusement. Yes, we’re just that cool. Not quite as cool as these people, though:

What are some of your not-so-secret favourite things?

*Abba boots are the huge boots that the guys (and girls) of Abba would wear. Check out those bad boys:

2 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

2 responses to “Guess What Didn’t Come in the Mail?

  1. Zoliepup

    I think one of my greatest guilty pleasures is wedding blogging and reading wedding blogs. Few people in real life know that I have a wedding obsessed alter ego!

  2. My not-so-secret favorite thing would be cooking. I don’t do it much, as I live at home and feel strange using others mixers, ovens and such. Still, I collect recipes and a wish-list of appliances and pots for when I get married 🙂

Leave a Reply

