Cretan Walnut Cake

Mr. Bean and I have been doing a fair amount of cooking and baking lately – I just haven’t had time to type up all the recipes and post pictures! I will work on that…

For our bible study a few weeks ago, it was our turn to bring food, so I made one of my favourite cakes – the Cretan Walnut Cake. As a gluten free cake it stays moist for a fair amount of time (ie. more than 1 day) and is really tasty, too! (Please excuse the exciting English – this is directly copied from my Cretan Cookbook: Cretan Cooking by Maria and Nikos Psilakis)

Cretan Walnut Cake

5 eggs
1c. sugar
4 tbsp. cognac (I used brandy)
1 tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. grated lemon rind
1 tbsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. ground clove
1 c. brown rice flour
1 tsp. xathan gum
1 c. roughly ground walnuts

1. Beat the whites stiff and add the sugar.food-photos-047

2. Then add the beaten yolks, the baking powder dissolved in the cognac, the grated zest, the ground clove and cinnamon and slowly the flour and walnuts, beating all the time.

 

food-photos-046

I ground the walnuts with a big knife.

 

 

 

Flour, yolks and baking powder/brandy ready to be mixed in

Flour, yolks and baking powder/brandy ready to be mixed in

 

food-photos-049

 

3. Pour the batter into an oiled baking pan and bake in a moderate oven for about 50 minutes. (moderate ~300F-350F)

Note: This cake is supposed to be eaten with a syrup-y sauce, but I have found it too sweet. You can add it if you’d like.

For the Syrup:

1 c. Sugar
1 c. water
grated zest of 1 lemon
1 stick of cinnamon.

4. After the cake has cooled down a bit, add the hot syrup which you prepare by boiling the above ingredients for 5 minutes.

 

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

 

And after our bible study devoured it:

 

food-photos-052

You can kind of see it's light texture - which is amazing for GF!

 

Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Cretan Walnut Cake

  1. Mmmm I adore all things walnut! 🙂

  2. I am Shaylene, That Wife-Jenna’s sister. I am gluten free and saw that you made a gf cake for her chocolate cake challenge! I have just been stalking your blog to see any good recipes!! You are actually inspiring me to start posting my recipes that i like on my blog!
    This looks so fluffy! That is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

