Gluten and Dairy Free Banana Muffins

This recipe is one I took from my Mum’s cookbook that she hand copied from my Grannie’s cookbook. I don’t imagine that it’s that different from any other banana muffin recipe, except this one has been tweaked slightly to accomodate allergies.

Banana Muffins

2 c. flour (I used: 1 c. brown rice flour, 1/2 c. corn flour, 1/4 c. potato starch and 1/4 c. tapioca starch. I should have used 1 1/4 c. brown rice flour and 1/4 c. corn flour for corn has a very strong taste which kind of took away from the banana.)
1 tsp. Zanthan Gum
1 tsp. Baking Powder
2/3 tsp. salt
1/4 c. olive oil
2 eggs
1 tsp. baking soda
4+ mashed bananas (I used 4, but the more you add, the better it is!)
1/2 c. sugar ( I used half brown, half white for I’m trying to use up brown sugar so I can have more containers for flours.)
1/4 tsp. lemon juice (I didn’t have any, so I used vanilla.)

1. Cream fat and Sugar (I just used a wooden spoon – you could use an electric mixer, but I was feeling lazy)

food-photos-0222. Add beaten eggs and mashed bananas.

food-photos-0233. Add the sifted dry ingredients and lemon juice. (I don’t have a proper shifter thing, so I used a metal sieve and tapped it until all the flour went through. I usually don’t do this because I’m lazy – but for you guys I did – but it did make the muffins a bit lighter and fluffier.)

food-photos-024 food-photos-025

Note: the batter should be slightly lumpy looking, or else it creates little tunnels in your muffins, which is undesirable!

4. Bake in paper lined muffins cups in a 325F oven for ~18 minutes.

food-photos-026

Tada!

food-photos-030See, muffins are just that simple!

3 Comments

Filed under Baking

3 responses to “Gluten and Dairy Free Banana Muffins

  1. I am gf and dairy free (and egg free) so these look so amazing!!!

  2. Shaylene – I’m glad that you think so! 🙂 I look forward to a potential recipe swap!

Leave a Reply

