So… I did it.

Please note that this is a fairly personal post and I don’t want you feeling sorry for me or anything… I just need to get things out.

Yes, I phoned in to the doctor’s office and made an appointment for next Friday. I’m pretty proud of myself because usually I am too afraid to admit that something is wrong with me.

What’s the appointment for, you ask? Well, I think I’m depressed.  It’s kind of ironic because I’m usually a very upbeat, positive and encouraging person. But lately, I’ve been feeling so completely overwhelmed that I feel that I am capable of doing nothing and have been extremely moody (especially in the negative direction). Plus, I pretty much have most if not all of the common symptoms.

This isn’t the first time I’ve thought that I was depressed. Two years ago I went in, got a recommend to see a psychologist but the office never called me back. So hopefully this time around goes better.

Well, what happens if I’m actually depressed or have some other mental illness? I guess I’ll go one day at a time and it’ll be an interesting journey. And find lots of online blogs and other resources. 😉

5 Comments

Filed under Thoughts

5 responses to “So… I did it.

  1. This is a huge step and I am blog-proud of you 🙂 I know how hard depression hits. It is so hard to admit it! Way to go, that is awesome, and I’ll be praying for you to feel better!

  2. P.S. Woo-hoo I’m on the blogroll thank you! 🙂

  3. Hey you. Hang in there. I received counseling for a few months once because of a bout of depression. I wouldn’t say I am chronically depressed, but I think almost everyone is inclined to be so in certain situations. Get in to see someone, as they will help you work through feelings that you are having a hard time getting through on your own. It’s nothing to be ashamed of, and you will feel so much better in the end.

  4. Bean

    Thanks ladies – I really appreciate your support!

  5. Pingback: Our Two Year Anniversary « Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

