Fall Harvest Bread Gluten-Free Style

Just in case I hadn’t had enough food to eat yesterday on Halloween, I made Fall Harvest Bread that I found on Good Things Catered. You can look at her page for the gluten-tastic variety, but I’m showing my beautiful gluten free variety. 🙂

I was feeling inspired, so I decided to take pictures at various stages of making the bread, in case you wanted to make it, too. Please forgive me for the lack of artistic-ness of the photos, for we only have a point and shoot and frankly, photographic composition is beyond me.

Fall Harvest Bread

Ingredients:

1 c. brown rice flour
1/4 c. corn flour
1/4 c. potato flour
1 tsp. xathan gum
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 c. sugar
1/4 c. light brown sugar
1/2 can (or 7.5 oz) canned pumpkin
2 large eggs
1/4 c. oil
1/4 c. applesauce
1/4 c. apple juice
1 small apple (I like granny smith) peeled, cored, and diced

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Spray 9×5 loaf pan (or can sub muffin pan or double recipe for cake/bundt pan) with pam with flour for baking — or grease and flour. (Bean note: I used wax paper, for I’m lazy like that.)
  • Combine flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda, and salt in bowl.
  • Combine sugar, pumpkin, eggs, oil, applesauce, and juice in large bowl.
  • Mix until just blended. (I realize that this looks quite interesting… I used my kitchen aid mixer, but you could have easily used a spoon in a bowl. But since our other bowls are currently full of candy, I would have had to have used the mixer bowl anyways, so why not use the mixer? Like I need an excuse or something 😛 )
  • Add pumpkin mixture to flour mixture and stir until just moistened.
  • Fold in apples.
  • Spoon batter into prepared pan (it will be all lumpy – don’t worry).
  • Bake for 60-70 minutes or until wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean.

Ta-da! Doesn’t it look nice? It’s tasty, too. Unfortunately, it fell slightly after it cooled, so I’ll have to look into reasons for that. Oh well.

And yes, that is my moose apron. And we do store our bicycles in our kitchen. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food

3 responses to “Fall Harvest Bread Gluten-Free Style

  1. Wait, are you gluten free? And dairy free? I am going to have to point my sister towards your blog as she and my dad are as well. How exciting!

  2. Bean

    Yes, I am! Fortunately, I am not a celiac though. Are your sister and dad celiacs? I do still eat cheese and some dairy in baking/cooking, but my parents and brother and completely dairy free, so I am used to cooking around that.

    That is pretty exciting! Talking about food allergies is one of my favourite things to do (oh dear), so I’m excited that there is someone that I can share it with!

  3. Yummy! Your apron is so cute 🙂

Leave a Reply

