Daily Archives: August 1, 2014

Caving Adventures

Caving Adventures-16At the beginning of June, I had my company retreat. (That’s only 2 months ago… I’m doing well!) The second day we had “team building” activities and I chose to go caving.

At the beginning, I was wondering what the heck I had gotten myself into.

Caving Adventures-2

It was dark. We had to clip into a rope. It was a bit slippery.

Caving Adventures-3

It was only until I successfully went through the first practise “squeeze” that I started to enjoy myself. It’s funny how doing something successfully boosts your confidence enough to give you the boost to continue on and enjoy yourself!

Caving Adventures-8

Caving Adventures-9

It was kind of crazy going through the “big squeeze”, where you had to riggle through a tiny hole that the helmet barely fit through, pushing yourself a few inches at a time with your feet and hands.

Caving Adventures-10

 

It ended up being really awesome – slithering through holes, climbing up and down rocks to get between “rooms” and generally getting very dirty. Totally worth it!

Caving Adventures-4

Caving Adventures-6

Caving Adventures-7

At the end of our adventure, we went to the Grotto. So pretty!

Caving Adventures-14

Caving Adventures-13

Caving Adventures-12

Soda straws from the ceiling

Caving Adventures-11

After a while we all turned off our headlamps and it was dark. I know I shouldn’t be surprised at that, but even when you’re in a dark room at night, there’s still a little light that your eyes can adjust to. Nope. Obviously not in a cave.

The happiest thing was this mushroom growing.

Caving Adventures-15

Caving Adventures-1

All clean at the beginning…

 

Caving Adventures-17

All dirty at the end!

Have you ever done something that pushed your comfort levels but ended up enjoying it?

1 Comment

Filed under Life