SRC: I am a Honey Bee’s Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad

Honey Bee Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad-4

For June’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Nicole of I am a Honey Bee. Nicole is also a lover of Boston Terriers, beaches, and food! She recently had her daughter, Autumn, and she is so cute! Nicole also goes on lots of adventures and eats tons of delicious looking food – yum! On top of that, she has tons of delicious recipes on her blog, including these s’mores campfire banana splits, a legitamite Horiatiki salad, and sauteed green beans with lemon and almonds.  After much humming and hawing, I ended up choosing her Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad, which is perfect for summer – especially since we’re actually starting to have nicer weather around here!

Honey Bee Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad-1

I didn’t change anything except the dressing – I’m not a huge dressing person, so I cut it back to 1/4 c. liquid total and added the lime zest.

Honey Bee Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad-5

It turned out really well! The flavours worked together quite well and both Mr. Bean and I went back for seconds! (He even tried to eat the one I was photographing before I was done with it!)

Honey Bee Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad-2

Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad

3/4 of 1 small watermelon, 1″ diced
1 english cucumber, diced
1 lb cherry tomatoes, halved
1 small block of feta, crumbled
Finely sliced red onion, to taste (I used about a quarter of a small one)

Dressing:

Zest of 1 lime
Juice of 1 lime
Olive oil
Salt and Pepper to Taste

  1. Toss together all the ingredients.
  2. Squeeze lime juice into a glass 1 c. measuring cup. Add enough olive oil to measure 1/4 c. Add zest, salt and pepper and whisk to combine.
  3. Pour dressing over salad, toss lightly to coat and serve immediately.
  4. Enjoy!

Honey Bee Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad-3

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below:

13 Comments

Filed under Food

13 responses to “SRC: I am a Honey Bee’s Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad

  1. Never would have paired watermelon in there… this looks refreshing!!

    >

  2. Super refreshing indeed! I only had watermelon salad once, and thought it was spectacular, but I never made it myself at home….

    nice pick for your SRC this month!

  3. Watermelon salads are some of my favorites!! And it’s perfect with the lime! Great pick this month :-)

  4. I’ve been wanting to try a watermelon-feta type salad for a while now, but I’ve been too scared (not sure why!). This one looks fantastic and so refreshing! Great pick this month :)

  5. Ohhh, I SO love the combo of sweet watermelon, tangy feta and crisp cukes. Yummy!!

  6. iamahoneybee

    I’m glad you you tried this. I love it during the summer!
    Adding lime zest is a great idea. yum!

    Happy Reveal Day!

  7. Gosh that looks so refreshing. What a great combination!

  8. What a perfect recipe for June! I need to get some watermelon. I haven’t had any yet. Happy Reveal Day!!

  9. Delicious. I love watermelon and feta salads – this looks like a wonderful version. Great choice.
    Sue

  10. Beautiful salad! I have made a watermelon feta salad before, but didn’t add tomatoes and cucumber. Sounds delicious!

  11. Pingback: Watermelon Tomato Feta Salad: Without Adornment | The Secret Recipe Club

Leave a Reply

