Quebec Travels – Architecture

Architecture-2

The other weekend Mr. Bean and I had a whirlwind trip to Quebec, where we spent a few days in Montreal, visited my sister and spent a day in Quebec City.

Architecture-1

I’ve always wanted to go to the old city in Quebec City as I love that style of architecture from the 1700’s with stone buildings and colourful wooden windows. Let’s just say that my inner 14-year-old was incredibly happy the entire time we wandered around.

Architecture-3

Architecture-4My favourite thing to do when visiting a new city or place is walk around and look at stuff. Then I get to see everything up close and I can pretend that I’m a local (plus, the exercise helps even out all the tasty food I inevitably eat. Priorities!)

Architecture-5

Chateau-Frontenac

Chateau Frontenac

Another one of the things I wanted to see was the Plains of Abraham, where the Battle of Abraham took place in 1759 where the British defeated the French, essentially setting Canada up to be an English-speaking county. Not that I’m a nerd or anything. :)

Plains-of-Abraham-1

360° view at Dusk

Plains-of-Abraham-2

View from the Citadel

Architecture-6

 

Architecture-8

Quebec-Pano-1

Architecture-9

Architecture-11

We stayed in a really sweet hotel called the “Chateau des Tourelles“. It’s a pretty sweet setup as the hotel is a bunch of adjacent flats combined and renovated. We had one of the studio rooms, which was on the top floor (our bathroom window is the mini pseudo circular window under the gable – how cool is that?). They even had a deck on their roof, which looked over the newer parts of Quebec city. I would definitely recommend this place if you’re ever going to go to Quebec City!

Architecture-10

Where have you always wanted to visit?

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography

2 responses to “Quebec Travels – Architecture

  1. They all looked like postcards to me! =D Very beautiful place.. (This is just a secret. I thought Quebec was a country haha.. until I read through your post! lol)

  2. Nope Québec is part of Canada, but there are many Québecois who see their province as a country to its own! Certainly they are a special people with lots of character :)
    Love the pictures, especially the panorama of the Quartier Champlain and the Plains of Abraham. Who’s that crazy person wearing bright turquoise pants in the first photo ? ;) Thanks for spending some time with me in the Belle Province!

Leave a Reply

