Winter Adventures!

Skiing 2014_1

(Clockwise) Cross Country Skiing at Moraine Lake, Kananaskis and Snowshoeing at Emerald Lake

Winter is really much more enjoyable when you do something to enjoy it. I know, it’s May so winter should be the last thing on my mind, but it’s still winter-y here. Maybe it’s the snow today or I finally feel slightly organized for the first time in a long time, but I thought it was the right time to share pictures from my winter adventures with you!

I haven’t really shared here that I started doing something last year that I used to think I would NEVER do: I tried downhill skiing and I LOVE it. Like “I-sometimes-take-days-off-in-the-middle-of-the-week-to-go-skiing” love it.  Add in some cross-country skiing and snowshoeing and I can say that this (long) winter definitely wasn’t too bad!

Skiing 2014_2

Snowshoeing up to the Fire Lookout in Peter Lougheed Park.

Skiing 2014_3

Downhill Skiing at Sunshine and Nakiska

I even participated in this year’s work ski trip to Whitefish! It was a really fun trip despite a few adventures due to poor visibility and splitting up with the people I was skiing with.

Skiing 2014_4

The best visibility that we had in Whitefish!

Skiing 2014_5

Fun Times at Whitefish! The picture on the bottom left corner is the best visibility we had on the second day!

One day Mr. Bean and I decided that we were going to try going cross-country skiing, not realizing that it was too warm for any of the waxes that we had and that the snow was so bizarre it really wasn’t worth it. It was the “longest” trip we’ve ever had – about 50m of skiing. So we went for a walk at Kananakis Village instead. The sun even came out!

Skiing 2014_8-1

View from Kananakis Village

I’ve met some pretty entertaining people on the ski lift – from the American guy in Whitefish who chewed us out for trying to put down the bar and then tried to make up for it by calling us “cute Canadian girls,” to the guy who asked me if I took selfies because it was my birthday to the old guys who were complaining how powder was horrible and they hated it.

Skiing 2014_6

Skiing Nakiska & Travels Home

I’d have to say that my favourite day of skiing was my birthday! I took my flex day and you couldn’t have asked for a better day. It was sunny, warm and the snow was decent! By the end of the day the snow had really softened up, which was kind of fun as skiing through slush makes you feel like a hero!

Skiing 2014_7

Birthday Skiing at Sunshine – Pretty much the best day ever! Look at Mount Assiniboine in the background!

Even though, as much as I love skiing, I am ready for spring to finally come!

6 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography

6 responses to “Winter Adventures!

  1. I can’t wait to learn to Cross Country!! You go girl!

  2. Kamran

    I Christine!

    I found a camera lens and there is label Christine N on it, If it’s yours, please shoot me an email.

  3. Oh my gee! I love your pics. It’s really awesome! These nice thing makes me missed shredding a lot! :(. Hopefully I could shred next week. I missed snow! :(

  4. Margot

    Great photos, hopefully next year is as much fun!

  5. How lovely! I have never experienced winter in my life! I live in a tropical country and it feels like it’s summer here all year long! Haha! Someday, I hope to be able to try skiing! =)

  6. So many wonderful scenic views, they were all lovely. I’m not a skier (I like all my bones in one place) but I do enjoy seeing how happy snow makes others. Oh and you got to see those goats too, that is cool.

Leave a Reply

