SRC: Couscous & Consciousness’ Double Chocolate Raspberry Brownies

CCouscous & consciousness Raspberry Brownies-5For April’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Sue from Couscous & Consciousness. Sue is a Kiwi who loves yoga, food and conscious eating. When I first opened her blog, I was greeted with load of beautiful photos of beautiful food. Yum! Foods like her Roasted Cauliflower and Almond Salad and her Fried Zucchini, Pea and Quinoa Salad , Asparagus, Artichokes, Argulua, Pomegranate and Beet Salad, and Apricot, White Chocolate and Cashew Nut Slice. (Apparently I was mostly on a salad kick when I was looking initially.)

CCouscous & consciousness Raspberry Brownies-2

I ended up choosing her Double Chocolate Raspberry Brownies at Mr Bean’s Request as he needed to bring a “not-cake” to the birthday celebration at his work. Brownies have never really been my “thing” and I’ve made them maybe once before – I guess it’s not that surprising given that we weren’t a “chocolate” family, but I was surprised at how easy they were! You essentially mix things together in two separate bowls, mix the bowls together, add the mix-ins, pour it into the pan and into the oven it goes.

CCouscous & consciousness Raspberry Brownies-4

I made a few adjustments – I reduced the sugar to 1 lightly packed cup, made it gluten free and used chocolate chips instead of chopped chocolate as that’s what the store had (Although, I would recommend that you use chopping white chocolate as the majority of the chips melted.) You can also easily make this recipe dairy and soy free by using a dairy free/soy free chocolate for both the white and dark chocolate.

I also made the brownies in a 8 x 8″ pan as I don’t own a 8 x 12″ one, which meant that it was more of a brownie cake than brownie squares and the cooking time was much longer as a result. I think even a 9 x 13″ pan would work and the cooking time would be much shorter as a result.

These brownies are moist, not super dense and very chocolate-y. I’m sure Mr. Bean’s coworkers will love them and not be able to tell they are gluten free!

CCouscous & consciousness Raspberry Brownies-1

Gluten Free Double Chocolate Raspberry Brownies

280 g butter (I used Earth Balance Soy-Free Buttery Spread)
250 g dark chocolate chips (The original recipe called for 200g chopped dark chocolate, but the store was out)1/3 c. each of brown rice, sorghum and tapioca flour
1/2 tsp. xathan gum
1 c. packed sugar
6 eggs
1 c. frozen raspberries
250 g white chocolate chips (Original recipe called for 200 g chopped white chocolate)

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line an 8 x 8″ pan with parchment paper.
  2. Melt butter over medium heat. Once it’s melted, remove from heat and stir in dark chocolate until it’s all melted. Set aside to cool.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, xathan gum and sugar. Add eggs and use the whisk to beat them slightly before using a spoon to mix it until smooth.
  4. Pour in the chocolate mixture and mix well. Fold in the raspberries and white chocolate.
  5. Pour batter into pan and bake in the oven for 60+ minutes (Start checking at around 45 min for doneness and rotate pan about half way through) or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Remove from oven and cool in tin. Cut into squares.
  7. Enjoy!

Sue, it was wonderful looking through your beautiful blog and I hope to try more of your recipes in the future!

CCouscous & consciousness Raspberry Brownies-3

Please Check out the rest of Group D’s Recipes Below:

26 Comments

Filed under Baking

26 responses to “SRC: Couscous & Consciousness’ Double Chocolate Raspberry Brownies

  1. Ahh! They look wonderful ! <3

  2. I just recently made a batch of brownies with chestnut flour – I don’t have gluten allergies, but enjoy trying a different take on a classic. Your version seems amazing, the texture just the way I like it

    • I’ve never tried chesnut flour before (partially because I’ve never seen it anywhere) but I’d like to try it! If you post the recipe let me know! :)

  3. I love brownies. I love raspberries. These look amazing.

  4. shockinglydelicious

    Those look rich and fudgy. YUM!

  5. Beautiful!! Great choice this month – I have yet to have my attempts at homemade brownies come out right, so I’m always excited to see someone post one that worked for them. :)

    • Thank you! There was a moment when they were taking a really long time to cook that I wasn’t sure whether or not they were going to turn out, but they certainly did! Good luck with your future brownie endeavours!

  6. Oh wow, these look amazingly moist. I love the addition of berries… perfect for spring!

  7. I love how you can see the raspberries in the side profile of the brownies. I don’t like raspberries and chocolate (no black forest cake for me!), but I wonder what other fruits could be used (blueberry??)

    • Blueberries would probably work, so would cherries, strawberries and potentially even mangoes. Tropical mango brownies sound awesome! :)

  8. The chocolate and raspberry flavor combination sounds like Heaven! Awesome pick this month :)

  9. Mmmm looks so lovely, I would almost be tempted to eat chocolate even though I shouldn’t :P

    • Thanks sister! I was trying to be a good girl and not eat it because of the dairy, sugar and chocolate, but I stole a small piece and it was delicious. :)

  10. LOVE the looks of these brownies! Raspberry and chocolate is such a delicious combo in my book….I adore your pick for SRC this month!

  11. What a perfect looking brownie – oh my goodness! Love it :)

  12. These sound amazing!!! Yum. Great choice for SRC. I’d be happy if someone brought these to my office, that’s for sure!

  13. I saw these on her blog… I understand why you picked them!

  14. Thank you, thank you, for such lovely words about my blog. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed these brownies, and that you were able to adapt the recipe to suit your own dietary needs. If your husband took them to work there probably weren’t any leftovers, but if you ever make them again I can tell you that they keep really well for several days. They freeze well too.

  15. Chocolate and raspberry are such a fab combo, lovely pick!

Leave a Reply

