Turnip to Tangerine’s Blueberry Spice Streusel Coffee Cake

Turnips 2 Tangerines Blueberry Coffee Cake-3

For March’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Lynn of Turnips 2 Tangerines. Lynn lives in Wisconsin and married her highschool sweetheat many years later (so cute!). She shares lots of amazing looking recipes including lots of baking! If I were eating dairy, I would totally want to try her lingonberry cheesecake – after going to Sweden, I love Lingonberries! I’m also super impressed with how good she is with making sourdough anything. She even has instructions on how to grow your own Avocado tree – if I wasn’t such a black thumb, that would be awesome to try!

Turnips 2 Tangerines Blueberry Coffee Cake-2

I ended up choosing her Blueberry Spice Streusel Coffee Cake – usually I don’t use cake mixes, but I had one I wanted to use up. The cake turned out really well! It probably helps that I followed the instructions on the box (shock!) – namely,  I used eggs as I knew I was going to be feeding it to my coworkers and the texture was amazing! It was fluffy, light and moist! My coworkers loved it and it disappeared quickly. I’d definitely make it again!

The only changes I made were that I didn’t use a spice cake, so I added my own, I reduced the sugar on the top by 1/4 c. and I didn’t add the frosting as it was still quite sweet to me.

Turnips 2 Tangerines Blueberry Coffee Cake-1

Gluten, Dairy and Soy Free Blueberry Spice Streusel Coffee Cake

1 – Betty Crocker GF Golden Cake Mix
1 tsp. ginger
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. allspice
1/4 tsp. cloves
3 eggs
2/3 c. almond milk
1/2 c. Earth Balance Coconut Spread
2 tsp. Vanilla
1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 c. frozen blueberries, thawed (Or fresh)

Topping:
1/2 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. oatmeal
1/2 c. walnuts, chopped
3 tbsp. brown rice flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 c. coconut oil, melted

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line the bottom of an 8 x 8″ pan with parchment paper.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the topping.
  3. Whisk together cake mix and spices.
  4. Add eggs, milk, vanilla and coconut spread and mix on low for 30 sec. Add vinegar and beat for 2 mins on medium.
  5. Fold in Blueberries and scrape into pan. (All mine went to the bottom, so I would recommend scraping a bit of batter to cover the bottom of the pan and then mix in the blueberries in the remaining batter before scraping into the pan).
  6. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the cake.
  7. Bake for 35 – 45 min or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Let cool on a wire rack before serving.
  9. Enjoy!

Turnips 2 Tangerines Blueberry Coffee Cake-4

27 Comments

Filed under Baking

27 responses to “Turnip to Tangerine’s Blueberry Spice Streusel Coffee Cake

  1. My husband would go crazy for this! Interesting to make it gluten free, I have very little experience with gluten free baking, so I might give this a try and see how he likes it…

  2. Yum! Your cake is beautiful and I’m sure super delicious! I LOVE blueberries!

  3. Wow, what a beautiful-looking coffee cake! I’ll take a slice, please. =) Great choice for the SRC! Amy @ Fearless Homemaker

  4. Again, I would have loved a piece of this for breakfast this morning.

  5. Absolutely beautiful photos! Great pick this month!

  6. I love any type of coffee cake at breakfast, or any time of the day for that matter. This sounds amazing! Great pick this month :)

    • Thanks! Coffee cake is awesome. One of my coworkers thought coffee cake had coffee in it so he didn’t want to try it… I convinced him otherwise though. :)

  7. Hello~ Thank you so much for your kind words and I’m so glad you liked the coffee cake:) I can’t even tell you how many times I have made this and brought it to work! It disappears fast~ Thanks again~ Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerines

  8. YUM. I love streusel anything!

  9. I love blueberries and cannot wait for summer to come so I can go pick some. Another love is a cinnamon coffee cake. This whole recipe screams my name. Great pick!!

  10. That looks delicious!! What a great pick for SRC this month!! Yumm!!

  11. That looks just delicious!! Everything is better with blueberries.

  12. I love streusel “anything” – wish one of my co-workers would bring in cake like this :-)

  13. Yum. sounds and looks amazing!! Great choice

  14. This cake looks delicious! Blueberry and streusel are awesome together.

Leave a Reply

