SRC: Life and Kitchen’s Banana Oatmeal Bread & Grilled Peanut Butter Apple Sandwiches

Life&Kitchen Banana Oatmeal Bread-1

For January’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Lindsay of Life and Kitchen. Lindsay has been a vegetarian since the beginning of 2012, so most of her recipes are meat free! As well as tons of delicious recipes, she includes lots of commentary on her life outside of the kitchen – including her ridiculously cute daughter, Lily, and their adventures with a growing kid.

But speaking of delicious recipes, I literally looked through 20 pages of her blog and was so indecisive about what I should make! Some of the recipes that caught my eye were her: Bacon and Goat Cheese Muffins, Cucumber Hummus Cups, and her Broccoli Salad with Raisins and Sunflower Seeds, (which is a variation of a favourite of ours, but since I’ve already made it, I decided not to make it again.

When I saw Lindsay’s recipe for  Grilled Peanut Butter Apple Sandwiches, I knew what I was going to make: her Banana Oatmeal Bread!  It’s super easy to make, is healthy and is super tasty! I made a few variations – making it gluten and egg free, reducing the sugar and adding more bananas. The only thing I didn’t like about it is that the some of gluten free oats were still uncooked after baking – apparently they take longer than regular, so next time I think I’ll either up the liquid in the loaf or soak the oats for a few minutes before mixing them in.

Life&Kitchen Banana Oatmeal Bread-2

Gluten Free, Vegan Banana Oatmeal Bread

1/3 c. each brown rice flour, sorghum flour and tapioca starch
1/4 c. millet flour
1/2 tsp. xanthan gum
1/3 c. unpacked brown sugar
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
2 egg replacers (1 tbsp. powder, 1/4 c. almond milk – make according to the directions on package)
1 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 tsp. apple cider vinegar
4 ripe bananas, mashed
1 c. old fashioned GF oats

  1. Line a 8 x 4″ loaf pan with parchment paper and preheat your oven to 350F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients.
  3. Add in egg replacers, oil and vinegar and mix until combined (mine was a bit dry at the moment as instead of adding the equivalent of another egg, I added another banana).
  4. Mix in banana and oatmeal and then scrape into pan.
  5. Bake for 45 – 50 minutes or until a few toothpicks inserted into the loaf come out clean.
  6. Cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then let cool on a rack.
  7. Enjoy by itself or in a grilled peanut butter apple sandwich!

Life&Kitchen Banana Oatmeal Bread-3

Life&Kitchen Banana Oatmeal Bread-4

Life&Kitchen Banana Oatmeal Bread-5

Life&Kitchen Banana Oatmeal Bread-6

Grilled Peanut Butter Apple Sandwich

2 slices banana bread
Peanut Butter
Apple Slices
Margarine (or soy-free spread)

  1. Butter one side of each piece of banana bread and place butter side down on a board/plate/etc.
  2. Spread peanut butter on both sides of the bread and arrange apple slices on one pieces.
  3. Assemble your sandwich and cook in a preheated pan for about 5 min a side or until each side is golden brown.
  4. Enjoy!

Life&Kitchen Banana Oatmeal Bread-7

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes by clicking the link below!

17 Comments

Filed under Baking

17 responses to “SRC: Life and Kitchen’s Banana Oatmeal Bread & Grilled Peanut Butter Apple Sandwiches

  1. Mmmm Banana Bread, oh one of my favs… looks delish!!

  2. Oh my gosh – what a great SRC choice! The bread looks so amazing, and the sandwich looks like such a perfect use for the bread! I can almost smell it baking… yumm! :)

  3. Yum, it does look easy to make!

  4. I have been trying to find good GF and DF bread recipes and this looks perfect! I like the idea of adding oats for texture too. Yum!

  5. I’m so glad you enjoyed this recipe and my blog! I want to try your version now :)

  6. There’s not a single word in that title that i don’t love! A phenomenal recipe!

  7. That looks unbelievably good! I love how you did the grilled sandwiches with them too :)

    P.S. The blog hop isn’t showing up in your post.

  8. I haven’t yet ventured in the gluten free breads, to me it sounds like a huge challenge, so it is nice to see a recipe tried and true to add to my files. I love oats, and I think the flavors in this bread are spectacular together

    Have a great Reveal Day!

  9. Oh wow! Not only does your bread sound good, but the grilled sandwiches are brilliant!! Awesome pick this month :)

  10. Boy oh Boy does that look good! My grandson will love this! Great pick! Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerines

  11. Beautiful photos! Great pick this month :)

  12. This bread looks and sounds amazing. And I always love a good peanut butter sandwich. Great pick!

  13. I love oatmeal bread, but have never made it with banana! It looks so good – especially with the peanut butter and apples :-) Love it!

  14. Your bread turned out beautiful, and I love the grilled peanut butter and apple sandwich idea, that sounds so good right now. Great job this month! :)

  15. That concept is fabulous! Sounds so good! Your bread is beautiful.

  16. Oh wow! This sounds amazing! Yummy! Visiting from group D

  17. Yum! I love banana bread but I have never tried it with oatmeal =D Good combi! =)

Leave a Reply

