SRC: Angel’s Homestead’s Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes

Angels Homestead GF Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes-1 For November’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with April of Angel’s Homestead. April is the wonderful force behind the SRC and has a wonderful blog to boot! She recently became gluten free and primal, so there were lots of Bean-friendly recipes for me to look at! Tasty Recipes like: No-mato Sauce (I definitely passed this onto my brother who doesn’t like tomatoes), this Almond Flour Cornbread and these Baked Apple Chips.

After much pursuing, I decided to make her Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes using her Gluten Free Almond Flour Pancakes. For once, I didn’t actually change anything (gasp!) except that I have a feeling the original recipe used non-natural, smooth peanut butter, whereas I used natural, chunky stuff. They still turned out well!

Angels Homestead GF Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes-2

I tried making a small amount of the peanut butter syrup, where I learned that it’s best to use smooth peanut butter as the chunky stuff doesn’t look that good. Plus, I have a feeling it was also for non-natural peanut butter, so it definitely wasn’t as smooth as it could have been! That being said, peanuts and maple go surprisingly well together!

Syrup-on-Pancakes

In her instructions, she says to cook them on low heat – please do! I initially had my griddle at 325F and it was too warm, so the pancakes got quite dark. The next batch I cooked at 275F and they were much lighter coloured.

As I was making the pancakes, Mr. Bean was making bacon, which means: Elvis pancakes!

Angels Homestead GF Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes-3

In case you don’t know what Elvis pancakes are – apparently Elvis liked to eat peanut butter, bananas and bacon together and the combination is surprisingly tasty! Add a bit of maple syrup and you’re good to go!

Angels Homestead GF Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes-4

April, it was a delight to look through your blog! Thank you so much for all the work that you put into the Secret Recipe Club!

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below!

9 Comments

Filed under Food

9 responses to “SRC: Angel’s Homestead’s Peanut Butter Banana Pancakes

  1. OMG, these pancakes are great with just the banana and pb, but adding bacon…!! Amazing recipe! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Wonderful!! Great combination of flavors and great src pick:) Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerines

  3. Those look WONDERFUL!! Great flavor combos! :)

  4. LOVE the action shots ^_^

  5. Sounds delicious! Great pick this month :)

  6. I love the action shots too!

  7. These action shots are amazing! I should try to do that, but knowing myself… it will end up as a disaster… :-)

    lovely recipe, lovely post!

  8. Oh how I love peanut butter and banana together! What a great pick this month!

Leave a Reply

