SRC: Burnt Apple’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf

Burnt Apple Pumpking Loaf-4

For October’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Traci of Burnt Apple. Traci is a mother of 3 kids, who used to have difficulty with cooking, but she’s definitely changed that! She has tons of tasty looking recipes, including some gluten free. She has tons of delicious pumpkin recipes, like these pumpkin snickerdoodles and this pecan pumpkin butter cake.

I have to admit, I was looking at her recipes with an agenda: the other day, I bought some almond “yoghurt” thinking that it would taste like real yoghurt, but I couldn’t stand the taste, so I wanted to make something that used it up. I also had some pumpkin and chocolate chips I also wanted to use up, so Traci’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf fit the bill perfectly!

Burnt Apple Pumpking Loaf-1

Of course, since it’s me, I adapted it to make it more Bean friendly. The changes I made to her pumpkin loaf are: reduced the sugar from 2c.white sugar to 3/4 c. coconut sugar, made more bean-allergy friendly by using almond yoghurt instead of Greek yoghurt, almond milk instead of milk and egg replacer instead of eggs. I added 1/8 c. oil as there is much less fat in almond products (I’m not used to fat-free cooking, so I added it just in case). I also added vanilla and upped the spices a little.

Burnt Apple Pumpking Loaf-3

It turned out really well! It was nicely moist and surprisingly spongy (in a good way!). Since there were eggs and it’s gluten free, it doesn’t rise as much, so I could have made it in one large loaf pan.  I’m glad I didn’t as it was so good that I probably could have eaten it all myself. To prevent this from happening, I’m sending the second loaf with Mr. Bean to work!

Burnt Apple Pumpking Loaf-2

Burnt Apple’s Chocolate Chip Pump Loaf (Gluten Free, Egg Free, Dairy Free, Vegan, potentially Soy Free)

3/4 c. coconut sugar
1/2 c. almond yoghurt
1/2 c. almond milk
1/8 c. canola oil
1 tsp. vanilla
2 c. pumpkin puree
2 tbsp. molasses
2 egg replacers (1 tbsp. powder with 4 tbsp. almond milk)

3/4 c. almond flour
1/2 c. brown rice flour
1/2 c. sorghum flour
1 c. tapioca starch
1/4 c. sweet rice flour
1 1/2 tsp. xathan gum
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/8 tsp. cloves

1 c. chocolate chips (use enjoy life (or similar) chocolate chips for dairy & soy free. I have some milk chocolate chips that needed to be used up, so I used those.)

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Line two loaf pans with parchment paper or grease and flour.
  2. Whisk together all the dry ingredients (flours, xathan gum, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices). Set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix together all the wet ingredients.
  4. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just combined. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  5. Divide the batter between the two pans and cook in the oven for 50 – 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in a few places comes out dry.
  6. Remove from the oven and let cool in pan for about 5 minutes before removing onto a rack.
  7. Let loaves cool completely before cutting.
  8. Enjoy!

Burnt Apple Pumpking Loaf-5

Traci, it was great to have a chance to look through your blog! I’m so impressed with your recipe manipulations and you’re an excellent example that anyone can cook! :)

Please check out the rest of Group D’s Recipes below:

6 Comments

Filed under Baking

6 responses to “SRC: Burnt Apple’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Loaf

  1. I love anything pumpkin this time of year! What a great SRC pick this month. I’m pinning to make this one too!!

  2. I love pumpkin and chocolate together! Perfect pick~ Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerines

  3. This sounds like the most delicious fall breakfast! Great pick this month ;)

  4. Pumpkin and chocolate indeed! Great combo!

    pictures are wonderful too…

  5. Love all these beautiful pumpkin recipes for the fall weather – GREAT SRC choice this month! Yumm!!

  6. This pumpkin bread sounds delightful! I like the changes you made too. Great pick for a fall SRC reveal day!

Leave a Reply

