SRC: Hapa-tite’s Zucchini Loaf (Muffins)

Hapa-tite Zucchini Muffins-2
For September’s
Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Nicole of Hapa-tite. Nicole lives in the DC area and is strongly influenced by all the cultures in her family, which means some pretty delicious and varied foods! My favourite are all the cute Bento box things she has!

I spent a few days mid-September visiting with my sister in Quebec and since we planned on having a baking fest, it seemed like the perfect time to make something for secret recipe club! I was also really impressed with myself as I hardly procrastinated at all on these! (A first in the last few months!)

Hapa-tite Zucchini Muffins-4

I ended up choosing her Zucchini Loaf and making it Bean Style – lower sugar, less fat and gluten free! We also just made half a recipe as we didn’t want to have that much food after all our baking expeditions. We definitely weren’t disappointed – I really wish that I made the whole recipe and took some home with me as these are perfect breakfast muffins as they aren’t too sweet and are packed with nutrition! When I make them again, I want to try using some almond flour to increase the protein and maybe even use a bit less starch as these muffins would still be awesome even if they were a little denser.
Hapa-tite Zucchini Muffins-3

I have to admit that I liked being able to take photos not at my own house – especially for the different props! The house my sister lives in has an old picnic table in the back yard under an acorn tree, which helped make these photos super “fall-esque.”

Gluten, Dairy, Soy and Refined Sugar Free Zucchini Muffins

1/2 c. brown rice flour
1/3 c. sorghum flour
1/3 c. potato starch
1/3 c. tapioca starch
3/4 tsp. guar or xantham gum
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
2 eggs
1/4 c. maple syrup
1/8 c. oil
1/2 c. applesauce
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla
1 – 1 1/2 c. zucchini
1/2 c. chopped walnuts
1/2 c. raisins

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line a 12-muffin tin with paper liners.
  2. Sift flours into a bowl and whisk in the salt, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon.
  3. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs until fluffy.
  4. Add the remaining liquid ingredients and beat until combined.
  5. Stir in zucchini.
  6. Pour liquid ingredients, walnuts and raisins into the dry and stir until just combined.
  7. Spoon into muffin tins and bake for ~12 – 18 min or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  8. Remove from the pan onto a cooling rack.
  9. Enjoy!

Hapa-tite Zucchini Muffins-1

How are you making the most of fall?

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below!

11 Comments

Filed under Baking

11 responses to “SRC: Hapa-tite’s Zucchini Loaf (Muffins)

  1. avrilm2468

    Such beautiful muffins!! I made your lovely Apple Acorn Squash for SRC this month….loved it! :)

  2. The pictures look great! I recently came back from Quebec on vacation too and loved the scenery there.

    I’ve made these zucchini muffins with “healthy” ingredients such as raw sugar, protein powder, or whole wheat flour and the recipe is amazingly adaptable!

  3. Your pictures are gorgeous! Wonderful choice for Reveal Day~ Lynn @ Turnips 2 Tangerines

  4. I bet those are amazing. I love zucchini bread and have never had zucchini muffins ;) Happy reveal day

  5. Very, very pretty pictures. Great SRC choice!

  6. Perfect pick for the season! Looks great!

  7. Beautiful post, I’ve never made zucchini muffins, I bet they taste awesome!

  8. What a great way to use up any leftover zucchini from the garden! Great pick this month :)

  9. WOW those look fantastic and sound amazing! Great SRC pick :)

  10. Yummy! I’m marking these because we are going wheat free the month of October and I’m sure that my family would like a treat. How would you use the almond flour? I have some and am trying to think of ways to use it.

  11. Pingback: Trip to Quebec: Food! | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

