Gluten, Egg and Coconut Free Strawberry Shortcakes

GF Strawberry Shortcake-4

Almost a month ago, Mr. Bean and I headed out to the Island, for ten (!!) lovely days of not working. It seems that every time that I go on vacation there I earn it. Like “my project manager is away, I’m the one who has to carry these drawings to be issued for construction, attend a kick off meeting by myself (while never having been to one or meeting the client before) and overall crazy-busy-ness with lots of overtime.” Fun! Needless to say, it was a well deserved holiday.

Unsurprisingly, food is a very large part of our vacations and I LOVE how good the produce is out there. On our first day, we went to the grocery store and this is pretty much a good picture of what happened: “MR BEAN – LOOK at these STRAWBERRIES! They look like REAL STRAWBERRIES!” Yep, I’m definitely from a land-locked province where strawberries are gassed to ripen on their trip over the Rockies.

GF Strawberry Shortcake-1

We bought a lot of strawberries, and instead of just eating them plain or with breakfast, I decided to do something with the them: make strawberry shortcake! I’ve made strawberry shortcake before, but I used coconut milk cream. Me and coconuts aren’t really getting along these days and my parent’s don’t have an electric mixer at the cottage anyways, so I thought I would try something different – using goats milk yogurt!

GF Strawberry Shortcake-3Not quite the usual dairy free fare I usually make, but goats milk doesn’t seem to bother me as much as cow’s milk, so I thought I’d give it a try. Feel free to use other dairy free yogurt if you desire to suit your needs.

These are super simple to make – just make your favourite plain biscuit recipe then add yogurt and strawberries. Healthy, simple and delicious! The strawberries were sweet enough to counter the tartness of the yogurt and each little shortcake makes a delicious, low sugar snack or breakfast!

GF Strawberry Shortcake-5

Gluten, Egg and Coconut Free Strawberry Shortcakes

Strawberries
Greek Style Goats Yogurt (I used Liberte Goat Yogurt)

2 c. gluten free flour mix (there were made with Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose GF flour mix, but if I were at home I would have used 2/3 c. brown rice flour, 2/3 c. sorghum flour and 2/3 c. starch)
1 tsp. xathan gum
1 tbsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tbsp. sugar (optional)
~6 tbsp. margarine
1 c. almond milk (Or other dairy-free milk)
1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

  1. Preheat oven to 400F.
  2. Measure out milk and add apple cider vinegar and set aside.
  3. Whisk together dry ingredients in a bowl.
  4. Cut in margarine with a knife and then your fingers until all the margarine is pea-sized.
  5. Stir in milk until just combined.
  6. Drop onto a lined or greased cookie sheet (you could roll/pat out & cut biscuits into circles, but I’m lazy) and bake for ~12-15 minutes or until biscuits are starting to turn golden brown.
  7. Let cool on a rack until room temperature.
  8. While the biscuits are cooking, slice up your strawberries.
  9. Once ready to fill, slice biscuit in half, scoop a dollop of yogurt onto both sides of your biscuit, fill with sliced strawberries and then assemble.
  10. You could add honey if you want to, but I found the strawberries were sweet enough!
  11. Enjoy!

GF Strawberry Shortcake-2

What’s your favourite things to do with fresh strawberries?

2 Comments

Filed under Baking

2 responses to “Gluten, Egg and Coconut Free Strawberry Shortcakes

  1. Pingback: Not So Sweet Strawberry Shortcake « Brooklyn Locavore

  2. Those strawberries look incredible! I love “real” strawberries, they are so much tastier!

Leave a Reply

