SRC: Oh! You Cook’s Jerusalem Carrot Salad

Oh You Cook Carrot Salad-4

For February’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Dena of Oh! You Cook!. Dena is a Librarian by day and makes delicious looking Kosher food by night, including this delicious fruit salad, all these AMAZING looking Purim treats and these Moroccan carrots.

It was quite a treat for me to look through all her recipes and get a better understanding of what things one eats on various Jewish holidays. Purim sounds especially amazing with all those sweets. ;-)

Oh You Cook Carrot Salad-1

After much humming and hawing, I finally chose her Jerusalem Carrot Salad, which is an approximation of a salad she had while in Jerusalem.

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly (shock, I know!) except that my spices almost burnt and then turned into these huge really dark brown spice clumps. My guess it’s because I added the honey while it was too hot, causing it to act kind of like sugar when you make candy. I salvaged what I could and added a bit more olive oil and honey whisked with the spices.

The result was decent, but I think I would have liked it better without the cumin as for some reason, I really don’t like cumin (and it doesn’t appear to like me either). On the same token, I didn’t want to leave it out as I wasn’t sure how that would affect the flavor profile of the salad. This salad is fairly delicate with the finely grated carrot, but if you’re short on time coarsely grating the carrot would make it easier to toss.

Oh You Cook Carrot Salad-3

Dena, it was really fun to spend so much time looking through all of your recipes – you definitely prove that kosher food can look and taste delicious!

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below!

7 Comments

Filed under Food

7 responses to “SRC: Oh! You Cook’s Jerusalem Carrot Salad

  1. beautiful salad! can’t wait to try

  2. You are right about some people not liking cumin – my MIL especially – but I like the spice so it’s used a lot in my recipes. VERY nice job on the photos, especially the 2nd one.

  3. Gorgeous little salad – even with the honey/spices fiasco :P
    Happy Reveal Day!

  4. It looks beautiful, and so healthy!

  5. This turned out to be a beautiful salad. I’m a cumin lover, so this would be right up my alley.

    Thank you so much for being a member of the Secret Recipe Club and sharing your cooking talents with us.

Leave a Reply

