SRC: Beautiful Disaster’s Chocolate Chip Muffins

For November’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Casey of Beautiful Disasters. She has lots of delicious recipes, mainly desserts (and nothing I would remotely consider to be disasters),  including this caramel corn, puppy chow (if I hadn’t already eaten all my gluten free chex, I totally would have made this!) and this apple pull-apart bread (if only I could figure out a way to make this gluten free and work out the same way – perhaps I sense a challenge?)

I ended up choosing the chocolate chip muffins and making them gluten free. Can you believe that I had never made chocolate chip muffins before? After making these, I think that I was really missing something as these were delicious! Mr. Bean asked me to make them again!

Here’s how I adjusted the ingredients to make them gluten free (and possibly dairy free):

3/4 c. brown rice flour
1/2 c. sorghum flour
1/2 c. tapioca starch
1/4 c. potato starch
1 tsp. xathan gum
1/4 c. white sugar
1/4 c. brown sugar
2 1/2 tbsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 c. dairy free margarine
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2/3 c. almond milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
Few squirts of lemon juice
1 1/4 c. chocolate chips (can be dairy free)

Have you ever made chocolate chip muffins?

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below!



10 Comments

Filed under Baking

10 responses to “SRC: Beautiful Disaster’s Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Gorgeous muffins! I <3 Beautiful Disaster's blog!! :-)

  2. Simple, healthy, beautiful — love it!

  3. Yum! My family loves chocolate chip muffins, and I love the fact that you were able to make them gluten free, and they still came out looking beautiful. (I’ve failed in my gluten free baking in the past, because they usually don’t want to rise very well.) Pinning this one to try for sure!

  4. Looks like you made a delicious recipe work for you! Good job–great SRC choice.

  5. These look absolutely fabulous! I adore small baked cakes like these and love your photos too! Great SRC pick, Karen

  6. Chocolate chip muffins are the best! Sneakily adding sweets to breakfast time :)
    Happy Reveal Day!
    Sarah E
    http://fantasticalsharingofrecipes.blogspot.com/

  7. Wow, your muffins look like they turned out awesome!! Thanks for the kind comments :) Your pictures look fabulous and props for making them totally gluten-free!

  8. I’m made chocolate chip muffins..my boys love anything chocolate! Yours look yummy…great SRC pick!

  9. These look great! I like to sometimes throw chocolate chips in muffins (after I make them as healthy as I can, haha) but I have never made just straight chocolate chip before!

Leave a Reply

