My Latest Photography Course

It’s been a while since I posted anything strictly photography related, so I thought it was about time. In September and October, I finished my 8th photography course (and last for my Certificate of achievement) at SAIT. (Not that I’ve done anything about actually getting the piece of paper since, but that’s besides the point.)

In this course, we 5 assignments with various topics. While some of them were more challenging than others, it was really good to take photos with a purpose.

All of these photos are essentially straight out of the camera – I just added the watermark & the “advertising” for the product shoot.

1. Sun

f/22, 1/400s, ISO 400, 35mm

This was taken at the view-point of the plain of the six glaciers at Lake Louise, where people had made these little Inuksuk guys. My mom helped me to move rocks so that I could lie behind the figure to get the sun at the angle that I wanted it at. Some other hikers thought that we had lost something and were looking for it – anything to get the shot, right?

I took this shot at a very small aperture (f/22) to get the sun to have rays. (This is how it works – the sunlight refracts around the shutters in your camera lens in varying amounts depending on how much overlap there is, causing the rays of the sunburst.)

2. Portrait

f/3.5, 1/200s, ISO 400, 66mm

We needed to take a portrait of someone doing something they liked to do, so here’s my dad in his backyard play the guitar. I used a fairly open aperture to blur the background and to slow me to use a higher shutter speed. I need to remember when I am taking shots of people in shadows to change my white balance settings so things aren’t quite as blue.

3. Product Shoot

f/3.5, 1/15s, ISO 200, 24mm

Apparently Crave Cupcakes now have gluten free friendly cupcakes, so when we were supposed to do a shoot of some kind of product outside of where it’s usually found, I thought why not? This is probably a shot that I’ve put the most thought into. It didn’t turn out quite how I wanted it to as they didn’t have any big cupcakes left by the time we got there, so I had to improvise a bit. I think it worked out in the end and the cupcake was getting pretty close to “I can’t leave this behind.” The icing on the other hand, I definitely could have (way too sweet and too much.)

I am also apparently quite predictable – one of my classmates knew the photo was mine as it had hiking gear in it. For some reason, that makes me happy.

Another random tidbit – apparently shutter speeds between 1/8 s & 1/30 s (1/15s being the worst) are bad for camera shake due to the mirror in the SLR moving while the shutter is open. If you want to prevent this, lock your mirror up!

4. Screaming Motion

f/8.0, ~35 min, ISO 400 (should/could have used 200), 24mm

This is by far the one that I had the most fun with (knowing my love of night photography, it shouldn’t be that surprising.) This is taken at my parents cabin looking NNW to get Polaris in the shot. To be honest, it was actually kind of by fluke that it worked out so well – I just pointed it in that direction and hoped for the best and it turned out quite well.

I wish I had taken it at slightly lower ISO so that the sky would be a bit darker, but given that I took this at 11 pm for 35 minutes, I didn’t really want to take it again. Plus, I was getting really cold so I wanted to get inside to bed!

5. Shadows

f/7.1, 1/800s, ISO 320, 52mm

This was a shot that I took while wandering around the neighbourhood looking for shadows and fall colours. The pine cone was just sitting on a patch of newer sidewalk and I thought the textures work quite well together. My instructor apparently thought that it could be sold at a tourist shop in Banff or as part of a collage or story on pine cones, which was flattering and hilarious.

There you have it! I’m not sure if I will take any more photography courses at SAIT for the moment as time is not something I have oodles of lately and I find it hard when you don’t get home in the evening until after 10pm. Perhaps in the future?

What are your thoughts about taking photography courses? Have you taken any good ones lately?

3 Comments

Filed under Photography

3 responses to “My Latest Photography Course

  1. Congrats on obtaining your certificate! I am impressed at all the thought which goes into taking each one of these shots – we have it so “easy” with our point and shoot cameras lol. And it’s dangerous news if Crave is making gluten-free cupcakes now. Good thing I live too far away :P

  2. Pingback: Top 12 Photos of 2012 | Without Adornment

  3. Pingback: Gluten Free Vegan Valentine Cupcakes | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

