SRC: K&K Test Kitchen’s Warm Potato and Green Bean Salad

For July’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with of Kelsey and Kim of K&K Test Kitchen. They are a mother-daughter duo who started off testing recipes they had collected and come across and sharing them on their blog, which then opened the door to much more experimenting the kitchen. Despite claiming that they aren’t gourmet chefs, they¬† cook meals for everyday, which focus on quality, using common ingredients and everything delicious.

Both of them have lots of wonderful recipes, including the tasty looking Raspberry and Apricot Crostata, Potato, Corn and Green Bean Salad with Chipotle Honey Vinagrette, Street Slaw (slaw made without mayo Рmy kind of thing!) and their family recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls. Ultimately, I ended up choosing their Warm Fingerling Potato and Green Bean Salad and it did not disappoint!

I did make a few changes.

  • I didn’t have any shallots, so I sauteed up some white onion with garlic. I also added some green onions.
  • We couldn’t find any fingerling potatoes, so I used baby yellow potatoes instead.
  • I’m not a huge sauce person, so I only made half the sauce the recipe called for and didn’t use all of it and found it to be plenty saucy.
  • It’s been quite hot, so I didn’t want to turn on the oven, so I cooked the potatoes on the BBQ.

I made it for dinner and served it with grilled pepper and chicken bratwurst from a local European Delicatessen. It was definitely a wonderful summery dinner!

I imagine you could also make it a meal by itself by adding some bacon or prosciutto and/or Parmesan cheese for some protein.

Have you tried any good summery salads or meals lately? Please Share!

Please check out the rest of Group D’s recipes below:


17 Comments

Filed under Food, Photography

17 responses to “SRC: K&K Test Kitchen’s Warm Potato and Green Bean Salad

  1. This sounds delicious! My mom just gave me a bag full of green beans from her garden. I’m thinking this would be the perfect way to eat them. Your pictures are beautiful, by the way! :)

  2. This is MY kind of salad, I LOVE salads and can eat them every day! I LOVE your photos……GREAT SCR post! Karen from Lavender and Lovage and Group D

  3. Oh I bet that was fantastic with chicken!! YUMMY :)

    Sarah E.

    http://fantasticalsharingofrecipes.blogspot.com/

  4. What a delicious looking salad and so gorgeous on the plate.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my group “A” SRC entry: Double Chocolate Mousse Cake.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  5. What a beautiful summer salad, perfect for a summer BBQ. Great pick for SRC!

  6. Love this salad…actually I love anything with potatoes! I think I will give this a try since my garden is overflowing with green beans right now. Great SRC pick!

  7. Great choice for SRC! I love this salad and the changes you made to it sound great – love the idea of grilling the potatoes! And thank you for your kind words :)

  8. What a gorgeous salad! Fabulous pick for SRC! YUM. :-)

  9. WOW, great photos, just wanna take a bite off the screen!!! I am so excited to be a new member of SRC, look forward to sharing!

  10. How yum!! It looks good on picture. I’m sure it tastes even better!

  11. Oh, this sounds like a great side dish!! Great job!

  12. jillianmckee

    Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could e-mail me?

    Jillian

  13. i actually have my own green bean & potato salad recipe that has feta and a white wine/mustard kind of sauce – it’s like potato salad without the mayo and/or eggs. heaven! though i could see this being very good as well. i like your suggestion for some prosciutto – or maybe even some pancetta? i love this for a side dish or even a starter for a meal :)

    happy belated SRC reveal day!

  14. Great SRC pick. Your photos look amazing – I want to reach into the screen and eat this up now!

  15. I love green beans and I didn’t eat them in ages! Shame on me!

  16. It reminds me of something I saw on The Chew a couple weeks ago! That version looked great and so does this one! Yum.

  17. Pingback: Top 40 Soups and Salads of 2012 | The Secret Recipe Club

Leave a Reply

