Canada Day Cook Out

Happy Belated Canada Day to you Canadians and Happy Fourth of July for all of you Americans! I hope that you enjoyed/will enjoy your respective holiday with friends, family and food! I know I did!

Mr. Bean and I were lucky enough to spend most of our long weekend out at my family’s cabin. We enjoyed good company, great food and excellent weather. The only thing that was too bad that the river was too high and dirty to go swimming in.

Recently, my parents added a “social fire pit,” and Mr. Bean has definitely enjoyed it – his favourite things lately are chopping wood, making fire, cooking food on the fire and drinking beer by the fire. Lucky for us, he was able to do this practically the whole weekend!

We decided to make ourselves a fancier dinner over the fire for Canada Day. On the menu – steak (for Mr. Bean) and chicken (for me) cooked over the fire in Mr. Bean’s grilling basket, cornbread muffins (made in the oven), salad and asparagus. If you don’t have a fire or don’t feel like using your oven, you can easily make the meat and the cornbread in your BBQ.

For dessert, we finished it off with s’mores (complete with gluten-free graham-like crackers!), which I forgot to take photos of. Probably for the better as my camera would be a sticky mess!

I hope this shows that a beautiful and delicious meal doesn’t have to be difficult and provides some inspiration for you 4th of July procrastinators or anyone desirous of a wonderful, easy summer meal. Enjoy!

What did you do this year for Canada Day or for the 4th of July?

9 Comments

Filed under Food, Photography

9 responses to “Canada Day Cook Out

  1. I had the family over, and my mother-in-law was pondering what it is about guys and BBQs. I told her it’s because they like setting things on fire. :)

  2. Happy Canada Day! Yummy food as always!!!

  3. Great pictures! Looks like a fantastic dinner! Happy Canada day… Two days late!

  4. JennyO

    Happy Canada Day to you! We are just waking up for our 4th of July, they are having a “Freedom Fest” on base so we plan on joining and enjoying some good ol’ American hamburgers.

  5. Pingback: Canada Day weekend.. « Jennifer's Journal

  6. I linked this to my post today ;)

  7. Happy Canada Day and 4th of July. I always feel wierd on July 4th because I’m not American, I just live here :P We did go out and enjoy the fireworks put on by the city and carnival rides for the kids. So happy Little Sister is tall enough to ride the bumblebee cars, she would have thrown a fit watching her big brother! Looks like y’all had a great Canada Day :)

  8. Happy Canada Day! It was raining here, so we didn’t grill out to celebrate the 4th. We did get together with friends and had an amazing flag cake. It looks like an ordinary cake on the outside, but when you cut it open, it has red, white, and blue layers in the shape of a flag. It was delicious!

    I had to laugh when you mentioned your husband’s love of the fire pit! Men and fires just go together! :)

  9. Pingback: Scavenger Hunt Sunday | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

