Unexpected Blessings from Past Hurts

Do you ever feel really blessed? I usually forgot to be grateful for all the blessings in my life by being too focused on all the negative things and things going wrong in my life. I had a bit of a realization the other day that made me realize how blessed I really am and have been.

When I was a kid, I fell out of the tree fort at my parent’s cabin. I somersaulted over the railing, hit my chin on the floor boards and landed on a stump, knocking me unconscious and breaking my wrist. This memory has always been one filled with a lot of pain and bitterness – why wasn’t my mom there? where did my brother go? why didn’t my sister believe me?

However, my realization (or perhaps revelation?) kind of flipped the whole thing around – I realized I was probably supposed to die – what if I had hit or landed on my head or not landed on the old, spongy stump? But I didn’t as there was an angel there who caught me because God wanted me to live.

That gave (and gives me) a lot of hope and comfort as it’s just another confirmation that God has a plan for me and he wants me to live. He cares enough about me to save me and to use some of the lowest moments in my life to show me how much he loves me. I truly am blessed!

What’s brought you hope recently?

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

2 responses to “Unexpected Blessings from Past Hurts

  1. What a beautiful post, Bean! =) God has been comforting me lately with my worries and all. I know that He will help us always. =)

  2. JennyO

    Hey hon… oh wow … yea the timing of this one. Life keeps showing me that God’s hand in my life has given me strength at unexpected times.

Leave a Reply

