SRC: Healthy Delicious’ Shaved Asparagus Salad with Bacon and Havarti

For February’s Secret Recipe Club, I was paired with Lauren of Healthy Delicious. It was SO HARD to choose just one thing to make as there are so many ridiculously delicious looking recipes on Lauren’s blog! I had a bit of a pinning fest including: Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie, Taco Casserole, Cassoulet with White Beans, Sausage and Turkey, and Chicken and Spaetzle Soup. She also has a section called “cooking for one,” where she shares recipes that are perfect to make when it’s just you for dinner.

In the end, I chose to make her shaved asparagus salad with bacon and havarti. Naturally gluten free, naturally scrumptious and with bacon, it’s sure to be a hit with Mr. Bean. And it was! He was sad that I had kept some separate to photograph it. The flavours really complemented each other well and I have to admit that I was also a bit sad when I finished my salad, too!

I did make a few changes – Lauren’s original salad comes with poached eggs, but since we were having something else with dinner, I decided not to include them. I also add some red onion slices that had been sauteed in the bacon grease and only used about half the amount of dressing the recipe called for. Even with the changes, the salad was amazing!

Please make sure that you check out all the recipes from everyone else in Group D!


Also shared at: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays.

22 Comments

Filed under Food

22 responses to “SRC: Healthy Delicious’ Shaved Asparagus Salad with Bacon and Havarti

  1. I’m so glad you liked it! That’s one of my favorite salads. :) Your photos are gorgeous, btw. So glad to be introduced to you through SRC.

  2. Your salad looks divine and I love all the flavors that are in it, I’m adding this to my must make list.

    Also, I am so glad that I found your blog this month through the SRC and I made and posted your Health(ier) Peanut Brittle which was a hit with all of us, especially my daughter. Here’s the link to my post: Health(ier) Peanut Brittle at Cook Lisa Cook

    Also, if you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Group ‘A’ SRC entry which is also allergy friendly: Crunchy Fudgy Heart Bites.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  3. Wow. This looks and sounds incredible.

  4. My mother-in-law makes bacon wrapped asparagus sometimes – basically this salad seems like a deconstructed version. And now I’m craving bacon and asparagus. :)

  5. Looks amazing! I just bought a bunch of asparagus this weekend. Maybe I’ll make this for my lunch tomorrow!

  6. Your photo is so gorgeous I want to dive right in to that dish!

  7. Oh, I love this! And your photo is gorgeous! I’ve made shaved asparagus only once, it’s a fun way to treat it, isnt’ it?

  8. Awesome pictures, fellow group D member! This salad looks absolutely amazing!!

  9. Oh my goodness! This looks to be one amazing side dish! I am definitely going to be trying this one! :)

  10. What a pretty salad! I’m a fan of anything with bacon :)

  11. What an elegant, low carb vegetable recipe. :)

  12. i can imagine with eggs you’d have an entire meal! this is lookin good sister – i’ll pin it for when asparagus comes into season and i can get it at the market again. how great would this be with a big glass of sauv blanc in the middle of the summer in the setting sun?? oh, wishful thinking.

  13. Anything with Bacon is gorgeous!! It’s been a while… glad you’re back! =D

  14. Angel's Homestead

    I’m always looking for yummy and creative salads, and this fits the bill perfectly.

  15. iamahoneybee

    oooo this looks like such a good spring salad.

  16. Pingback: cooked vegtables- sauteed, roasted, casseroles | Pearltrees

  17. What a lovely choice! I’m really looking forward to asparagus season…

  18. Great post. I love asparagus. I also did a bacon and asparagus salad recently. http://caroleschatter.blogspot.co.nz/2011/11/asparagus-bacon-salad.html

  19. I have not tried anything like this. I will definitely make this for dinner. Looks delicious!

  20. Pingback: 101 in 1001 Conclusion | Without Adornment

  21. I had you this month for SRC and chose this recipe. WOW, is it delicious!! Thanks so much for sharing it! :)

Leave a Reply

