Bah Humbug?

To be honest, I really haven’t been feeling terribly Christmas-y yet despite the snow on the ground and it being Advent and all. Mr. Bean can attest to how annoyed I was that my favourite radio station started playing Christmas music on American Thanksgiving. (It’s not even advent yet! Why are they playing Christmas music already!??! Why can’t they wait until Advent starts or until it’s December?!!?)

When I was growing up, we didn’t really start celebrating Christmas itself until basically Christmas Eve. I especially loved that some of the first Christmas Carols we’d sing were at the Lessons and Carols service at Church as well as on Christmas Eve instead of at the end of November. It made it seem so much more special! My family celebrated Advent and would do the Advent wreath/calendar things in December but we wouldn’t really put up any decorations, including our Christmas tree, until the 20th – 23rd (depending on how organized we were! haha. For what it’s worth, my family is usually one of the families whose Christmas cards arrive after Christmas.) Some of you probably think we’re crazy, which is fine, but we’ve always believed that the 12 days of Christmas start at Christmas and so that’s when we’d really celebrate Christmas and enjoy the Christmas atmosphere. So, I guess one of the reasons why I’m not terribly enthused for Christmas at the moment is that I’m afraid that I’ll be tired of it by the time it actually comes around – do you ever feel this way? Plus, from being in university, I learned quickly that as much as I might have wanted to get into the Christmas Spirit, I couldn’t if I wanted to do well on my finals! Old habits die-hard I guess!

View of the Rocky Mountains on Saturday Morning

That being said, given that it’s now actually December and we’re now in the second week of Advent, Mr. Bean and I have put up our mini Christmas tree, our Christmas lights and our door wreath and that helps make me feel a bit more in the Christmas spirit. I have been listening to the Christmas songs on the radio occasionally while I drive to tutoring because I like the DJ in the afternoon, they give good traffic updates and sometimes secular music annoys me more that 24/7 Christmas music. (I’m really picky, aren’t I? I guess that’s what happens when you enjoy listening to Christian music and then it’s taken away from you – that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it! haha.) Despite that, I’m still trying the “dip your toe in first” method instead of the “just jump right in!” method when it comes to enjoying Christmas in hopes that when Christmas finally gets here, I still want to celebrate it! Maybe like Scrooge I’m not so Bah Humbug-y after all; I just take a bit of time to get into the Christmas spirit! :)

When do you start celebrating Christmas? Are you sick of the Christmas atmosphere by the time it actually comes around?

These photos are Straight Out Of the Camera (SOOC) and are my submission for this week’s Christmas/Holiday themed Good to Wow: Shoot and Edit over on Jill’s Blog.

 

19 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography

19 responses to “Bah Humbug?

  1. I totally hear you…I was SO ticked when the alarm went off on Thursday morning and Shine was playing carols. Oy! I’ve stocked the car with cds instead…and Christmas spirit definitely has to wait until after exams next week. :)

  2. I completely know what you mean – I like to celebrate my holidays one at a time so I can really soak it all in. Loving your photos though.

  3. ostranderblog

    Absolutely no issues in Europe, we’re not swamped. I look forward to the Weinachts markets and the cheer of the old town centers … I’ll be sad to go back to this fear of the humbug when we hit the states next year. Love the berry photos!!

    • I would love to visit Europe during Christmas season just to see how the old towns decorate and go to some of the Christmas markets! When you go, you better take photos so I can live vicariously through you!

  4. Beautiful photos! We have not decorated for Christmas yet because I do get tired of the clutter…but Christmas is very special to me and I don’t want to rejoice that Jesus was born only one day of the year, so I like to in my heart celebrate Christmas all year round, Christmas carols and all.

  5. Unfortunately, for us, the stores in our area started putting up xmas decorations the day after Halloween!! We start celebrating around the 2nd week of December and try to extend it out a week after Christmas, at least. Very pretty photos!! Enjoy the season.

  6. Beautiful shots! I really like the pine cone in the snow. :) Growing up, our celebrating started the day after Thanksgiving. My parents always got their tree then and we’d decorate. Now, my celebrating starts sometime after Thanksgiving, but not necessarily the day after. This year we started slowly last week with a few small decorations & crafts and getting our tree yesterday. I usually tire of the music before the rest of the holiday fun.

    • Thanks! I’m afraid of tiring of the music so I haven’t been listening to it. But now that it’s the 2nd week of December, I’m getting a bit more receptive to it. haha.

  7. Fabulous Fabulous snow- those are beautiful!

  8. MAID in Alaska

    I feel much the same. Last year we put the tree up the day after Thanksgiving, and by the time Christmas came, I could not wait for it to come down (I packed it away the day after Christmas). This year, we’re taking our time. We bought a nativity set and we plan to put that out with the girls this week. :) The tree can wait another week or so though…

    I absolutely love your pictures, by the way!!

  9. Ohhhhh…. I am one of “THOSE” people. When Shine started with the Christmas music all the time I was soooo excited I made a facebook post….. for me Christmas starts the beginning of November – I start easing myself in, slowly putting up decorations and listening to music and then Dec 1 Christmas is here – I think of it lasting all month long….. I am one of those folks that never gets tired of it and wishes every season had the magic……………… I know, I know I make you sick!!! LOL!!!!

    • No, I’m happy for you that you’re able to enjoy it for extended periods of time! I’m also glad that you enjoy the early Christmas music – maybe you can enjoy it enough for the both of us? haha.

  10. Pingback: Holiday Edits & A New Blog Header! | Without Adornment

  11. I love the first and last photos. The color contrast is stunning. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

