SRC: One Lovely Life’s Fall Fruit Pie

Can’t decide whether you want pie or crisp? How about make both! For November’s Secret Recipe Club, I made One Lovely Life’s Fall Fruit Pie. Emily had TONS of beautiful and delicious looking recipes – it was so hard for me to choose just one to make!

Obviously I changed things a bit as I can’t eat gluten. I made an almond flour crust (that I apparently cooked too much – user error on my part!) and used a mixture of almond and brown rice flour for the topping and brown rice flour in the pie itself. I also used less sugar as my apples and pears were quite sweet and no cinnamon so that my mom could eat it.

I quite enjoyed this pie – the topping makes it especially fabulous! I thinking I would love to make it again but with an actually nice pie crust that isn’t overcooked. I really like how this pie had both apples and pears – it’s like the best of both worlds!

As per Ground Cherry’s request, here is the recipe I used for the topping:

1/3 c. cold Earth Balance Soy Free Buttery Spread
1/3 – 1/2 c. sucanat, ground into a fine powder
1/2 c. GF oatmeal
1/4 c. each of almond flour and brown rice flour
1/4 c. chopped almonds
1/4 tsp. salt

If you have some time, do go over and check out some of Emily’s recipes!


Also shared at: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays and Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

27 Comments

Filed under Baking, Food, Photography

27 responses to “SRC: One Lovely Life’s Fall Fruit Pie

  1. I LOVE fall fruit pies that have a crunchy topping like this one. YUM! Great choice for SRC!

  2. I love fall fruit pies! This makes me want to go cut a slab of the apple pie that’s sitting on the counter and mound it with some ice cream, even though it’s not even noon yet! :)

  3. Mmm love the crumbly topping! Great post, fellow SRC group member :-)

  4. Yay! I’m glad you popped by to say ‘hi.’ I LOVED seeing how you adapted my pie to be gluten free. I have a few friends who eat gluten-free, and this will be great to rely on when I bake for them next. Great job!

  5. fruit in pie = good. i love fruit. fruit is my favorite dessert… and i love pie. i’ll take 2 slices please!

  6. Such a beautiful, beautiful pie you made!
    Delighted to be part of your group from the SRC!
    ~avril :-)

  7. Oh my. The fact that this is both pie and apple crisp in one bite makes me want to faint–love it!

  8. Recipe with adaptations? Would love that topping…

  9. Mmmm, Mmmm, Mmmm! This looks wonderful! I would have picked the samething…I also love apple pie! But pear too? Yes, please! :)

    I also answered your question on my blog! ha ha! :)

    xo
    Katie

  10. I love fruits in my pies. The crunch & flavour they give is amazing. That pie looks delicious.

  11. I love pies with a crisp topping. Great choice!

  12. I love fruit pies…this looks like a lovely mix for your filling

  13. Wow, this pie looks amazing!! I love a good strudel/crumb topping!

  14. Wow, you have such gorgeous pictures!!!

  15. I love the idea of combining a pie and crisp. This looks great!

  16. This sounds good! I hadn’t thought of using almond flour for the crust.

  17. iamahoneybee

    great looking pie :-) I like the combo of fruit!

  18. Pingback: Homemade Granola | Without Adornment

  19. What a fabulously looking pie! looks so refreshing & i so much love that gf topping too! ;)

    LMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM,…!

  20. Pingback: Fall Fruit Pie: Without Adornment | The Secret Recipe Club

  21. This pie looks so good! I have been craving a crisp dessert. Your pictures look beautful!

Leave a Reply

