GAHIGF: Gluten Free Ginger Beef and Chinese-esque Pork Dumplings

When I was a kid, almost every time my mom was out of town, my dad would order us Chinese food. Usually we’d get ginger beef, sweet and sour pork, some sort of chicken stir fry with vegetables and occasionally Shanghai noodles. When we found out that none of us could eat gluten, we stopped ordering in Chinese food altogether.

Over the years I’ve had Chinese food a few times, especially over my teenage years when I disregarded the need to eat gluten free all the time. I think the most memorable experience was when I was invited to my best friend’s family birthday dinner at a Chinese restaurant. Given that they were Chinese, we had a variety of actual Chinese food – including duck (good) and jellyfish (bleck. When I asked what the long clear strips were, they said that I should try one because they were tasty. I did and after chewing on it for a few minutes, I asked what it was. “Jellyfish!” they replied. Needless to say I didn’t eat any more of it!)

When Iris from the Daily Deitribe, who is hosting this month’s “Mooncake Festival” themed Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free, said to make one of our favourite Chinese food dishes suitable to our dietary needs, I knew I wanted to make something I hadn’t eaten in a while. (No, not jellyfish – I’ve since then discovered an allergy to shellfish and non-fish sea creatures). I recently started to eat some cuts of beef (a story for another day), so I thought that I should try to make ginger beef gluten free. Since I’m also an overacheiver, I also wanted to make some dumplings, especially since seeing LaxSuperMom’s recipe for gluten free wonton wrappers. (I call them Chinese-esque because I can’t presume that they are truly Chinese dumplings. )

Both ended up being very tasty – Mr. Bean LOVED the dumplings despite me not rolling out the dough thin enough. I really enjoyed the ginger beef as the sauce was so close to how I remember it and how they were not mostly gross deep-fried batter. The recipe allowed for 2 very generous meals for both of us, plus a bunch of dumplings and  about 1/3 of the dough leftover. We also had left over meat from the dumplings, which I guess we could have used to make more dumplings, that Mr. Bean made Asian inspired meatballs out of.

Ginger Beef (based on this recipe from tasty kitchen)

~1 lb sirloin tip steak, sliced in 1/4″ thick strips
Rice flour
Oil
1 onion, sliced
2 – 3 stalks of celery, chopped diagonally
1 – 2 carrots, sliced diagonally
1 pepper, sliced thinly (I used 1/2 red and 1/2 green)
2 -3 baby bok choys, chopped
1 handful of bean sprouts
2 green onions, chopped
4 tbsp freshly grated/minced ginger
4 cloves garlic, minced
3 tbsp. GF soy sauce
2 tbsp. cooking sherry
1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar
1/3 c. sugar (could use 1/4 c. agave if you wanted to make it refined sugar free)
Salt
Red Pepper flakes (optional)
Cornstarch and water

  1. Heat some oil up in a frying pan. Dredge the beef strips in the rice flour. Fry in batches until meat is browned. Remove from frying pan and place on a paper towel lined plate.
  2. Once the meat is done, add a bit more oil to the pan if necessary and sauté the onion, carrots, onion, garlic and ginger until the onions are starting to become translucent. Add the rest of the veggies.
  3. A minute or two later, add the soy sauce, cooking sherry, apple cider vinegar and sugar and bring up to the boil.
  4. Create a slurry with some water and cornstarch and add to the boiling liquid. Stir. Add more slurry if necessary to get the sauce thickened to the desired consistency.
  5. Add the beef back to the stir fry and stir to coat. Season with salt and red pepper flakes to taste.
  6. Serve over rice if desired.
  7. Enjoy!

Gluten Free Chinese(esque) Pork Dumplings

For the wrappers (based on this recipe from LaxSuperMom – for detailed instructions with pictures, check out her blog post)

2 c. sweet rice flour
1/2 c. garbanzo bean flour
1/2 c. potato starch
1/2 c. tapioca starch
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. xathan gum
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs
7/8 c. applesauce (or 1 c. if it’s quite thin as my applesauce was very thick)
Water
Cornstarch

  1. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
  2. Make a well in the middle and add the eggs and applesauce.
  3. Mix together and add enough water to make an elastic dough. (I used over 1/2 c.)
  4. Sprinkle some sweet rice flour over a long strip of wax paper (or other non-stick surface.)
  5. Roll out about half the dough until 1/8″ or less thick. The dough sticks together quite well, so it can be fairly thin.
  6. Cut ~3″ squares in the rolled out dough.
  7. Spoon ~1/2 tbsp. of meat mixture into the middle of the square. Create a slurry with some cornstarch and water (you only need about 1/4c. water and a tbsp or two of cornstarch) and use your finger to “paint” slurry on two adjacent edges of the wrapper. Fold the wrapper over the meat and seal the edges.  Place finished dumpling on a piece of wax paper.
  8. Repeat with remaining dough.
  9. Bring a large pot of salted water to the boil. Cook the dumplings in the boiling water until they float. (I let them cook for a few extra minutes after they started floated to ensure that the pork was cooked.) Once done, remove from the pot and place in a strainer to drain.
  10. Repeat with the remaining dumplings.
  11. If desired, you can fry them until they are browned. I actually preferred them that way over just boiled.
  12. Once all the dumplings are cooked, you can eat them any way you like. SuperLaxMom ate hers in a broth, whereas we ate ours dipped in the sauce from the ginger beef.
  13. Enjoy!

Pork Filling for Dumplings (based on this recipe from Steamy Kitchen)

1 lb ground pork
1/2 c. thinly chopped green onions
2 tsp. freshly grated ginger
1 1/2 tbsp. GF soy sauce
1 tbsp. Cooking sherry
2 tsp. olive oil (could use sesame, but I don’t own any)
1 tsp. kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper

  1. Mix together all the ingredients until fully incorporated. (I used my hands but you could also easily use a food processor.)
  2. Store in fridge until ready to use.

What is your favourite kind of Chinese food?

Recipe submitted to: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Gluten-Free Wednesdays and Real Food Wednesdays.

11 Comments

Filed under Food

11 responses to “GAHIGF: Gluten Free Ginger Beef and Chinese-esque Pork Dumplings

  1. I looove Chinese food…I’m in class and starving :) Sweet and sour pineapple pork, fried rice, chicken with baby corn and water chestnuts, won ton soup…yummy!

  2. Pingback: Your Questions About Vegan Gluten Free Recipes | Gluten Free Guide

  3. Oh my this all looks so amazing! I really miss dumplings… thank you for joining in on GAHIGF this month!

    xoxo

  4. Wow sister, these look very tasty!! I would love to try out the recipe :P How long did it take you to make them? It does seem somewhat labour intensive!

  5. I will proboably never make the dumplings – but it does my gluten free heart god to see somebody making them! and I’ve got you bookmarked in case i have time!
    Blessings

    http://bit.ly/odzYCI

  6. This looks so good. I pinned it ;)

  7. Pingback: Mandarin Stir-Fry Beef - Holistic Network Exchange

  8. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Pork – Vegetarian | Vegetarian Chinese Recipes

  9. Pingback: How to Prepare the Perfect Chinese Crispy Beef | Chinese Recipes

  10. Pingback: Easy Herbed Vegan Cutlets | Best Vegan Recipies

Leave a Reply

