Questions

You know when your life just feels like one big question mark? That’s kind of how I feel at the moment. I feel like there is a lot of uncertainty in my life and I don’t like it. I know I’m supposed to trust that God is in control, but it’s difficult especially when I want to be the one holding the reins.

I would appreciate some advice from you regarding some of my questions:

  • I have recently been approached by a website of someone who appears as a health expert on a TV show for a partnership: if I provide a link in support of her website then I will be compensated through books, advertising or something along those lines. Eventually later this summer I would participate in a blogger spotlight program where I would share some of my expertise on vegan/gluten free/allergy friendly cooking and the like.  It’s sort of a “if you send me traffic, I’ll return the favour” type thing.
    While I am quite excited to be noticed and have someone who wants my knowledge and I know that it could be a great opportunity for me and my blog, I am hesitant to make my blog into an advertisement for someone else. So, I wanted to ask you, my lovely readers, what you think about this?
  • Related to that is that I have also been approached by some companies to do reviews of their products. What do you guys think about product reviews and giveaways? (Rest assured that I will not become a sponsored blog with every second post talking about product x that company y gave me to review. )  I have been somewhat tentative about doing sponsored reviews, but I have agreed to review one company’s baking mixes because I have seen it in my local health food store and I thought it might actually be helpful for those of you who don’t have time to make things from scratch. So expect a giveaway soon!
  • I am debating whether or not I should continue volunteering at CUPS. Sometimes it can be quite fun as I like interacting with a whole bunch of the clients and it has been excellent for helping me to build boundaries, but it can also be quite stressful and I can’t really show my servant’s heart without being taken advantage of. I guess that is the reality of dealing with homeless, addicted and broken people in such a situation. I also feel torn because I know that the people who work there really appreciate my help and I was the volunteer they used in their annual report to help encourage others to volunteer at CUPS as well, so stopping would be somewhat … hypocritical. haha.
  • I am still unsure of what I want to do with my future in terms of employment. I realized that I’m still incredibly hesitant about jumping into an engineering job because I’m afraid it’s going to be a repeat of my internship. Honestly, I don’t want to wake up every morning dreading going to work and then pretending that I like it. Not fun. On the other hand, in my studio portrait photography course the instructor talked a bit about opening your own photography business. For the last year or so I have thrown around the idea of opening my own photography business at some point,  but I’m afraid and I don’t know whether this is the time to do it or not. If it is, then it opens the Pandora’s box of things you need to do to open your own business, which is scary enough on its own!  Like choosing a name. Funny that I usually get caught up on things like that. So, do any of you know anyone who has made the jump to professional photographer and would be able to give me some advice?
  • After going to this spiritual healing course at the beginning of May, my belief system has been challenged as all the lies of the devil I’ve believed in are being revealed by God’s truth. I am glad this is happening, but the two battling belief systems are creating a lot of confusion.

Thank you for reading this and I appreciate any and all thoughts and advice! :)

8 Comments

Filed under Life, Thoughts

8 responses to “Questions

  1. I’ve been hesitant about accepting offers for sponsorship or product reviews as well, because I don’t want my blog to become filled with advertising. So I know how you feel!

    In my opinion, too much advertising on a blog is a big turn-off; I usually stop reading if there’s an overload, especially if the sponsored posts have nothing to do with the blog’s content. On the other hand, I enjoy reading reviews for products that relate to a blog’s content… i.e. products that my favorite bloggers actually use and like. I’m always on the lookout for great new products, and if I’m following a blog, I generally think highly of the author’s opinions. So, I think as long as you stay true to yourself and your blog’s mission when choosing what products to review, and you’re completely honest in your review of the product, it would be a great addition to your blog! Same with sponsorship. If it fits well with your blog, I say go for it!

  2. ostranderblog

    I agree with Samantha on the sponsorship. Seriously your recipes and how you have to ensure that products work the way they say? Your input to others would be important. I forward your recipes to my sister, she’s not gluten free but she does have a ton of food allergies and the recipes you write work for her.

    As far as your volunteer work, if you feel it makes you whole or gives to you then continue. But balance it so that it doesn’t take. I’m all for giving to others. I don’t speak of my belief’s or religion as I just am not comfortable doing so. You are right, it is a challenge to deal with people who have addictions and are broken in ways. Its not hypocritical to remove something from your life that isn’t adding to your life. Being true to yourself came up in response above, I live by that. You must answer to yourself in your heart. I’m not sure I helped on the answer there ;)

    Now onto career – Bean you have mad skills and passion for photography. I have a friend who does pro but not full time. In fact many of the sites out there getting your foot in the door full time, starts out slow. You have to have the ability to sell yourself. One blog mentioned a business website called SCORE that is supposed to have some assistance with understanding the “money” side of small business. Feel free to talk to Marc:
    http://marcangelphotographic.com/Contact/contact_page.html
    He and I deployed to Iraq together, great guy.

    Good luck with your choices! I feel you on the questions…

  3. I think product reviews are nice when they are honest and are products that are in-line with the blog’s focus. If it’s a chance for you to try some new products and get your real opinion out, then I’d say to go for it.

    As to CUPS, I’d pray about it and ask God to make it really clear if that is where He wants you.

    Good luck with all your choices.

  4. I think reviews of products relevant to your blog are fine. I’ve been approached to review cookbooks and a couple of other products that I would personally try out anyway. I see no harm in that. I also don’t like extra advertising on blogs. But I do appreciate reading reviews, so I say go for it!

    The blog sponsorship/etc./ is a tough one. Good job on getting the attention! I’d give yourself time to think about it.

    Good luck with everything! I’ve been in turmoil recently, too, for a lot of reasons. You’ll get through it! :)

  5. I am regularly revising my workload and obligations. Sometimes our passions wither and I would prefer they don’t die so I refresh instead. Taking a break from one thing can lead you to concentration in another way. Go with your real gut instincts. Nervous is good…that can be excitement in disguise.

  6. Pingback: Shoot and Edit: Bubbles and an Update | Without Adornment

  7. Hi! I do reviews all the time – or as often as I’m asked. But I”ve only been approached by those who are advertising gluten free products and I’m a sucker for anything free! But I always tell them – if I like it I post about it, if I don’t, I’ll contact THEM with my feedback instead of posting on the blog. If they like it, I get to sample some Gfree goodies. If they don’t like the terms, they don’t send stuff – but um – that last part is hypothetical, because everyone has been falling all over themselves, with “of course, oh – we wouldn’t want you to – you’ll love our product, blah, blah, blah”. I’m not sure they believe me, but I’ve said it, so I think I have every right to enjoy their sample (or gag on it) and write or not write – it is up to me.

    And – thank you for putting me on your blogroll – I feel quite honored! :)

  8. Pingback: A Big Reason to be Festive! | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

