Shopping in my Closet

I’m the first to admit that I know very little about fashion and style. So when Emily over at Scribbles From Emily began her “Fashion 101″ series, I jumped at the opportunity to play along with the weekly challenges and hopefully learn a thing or two.

Last week I got to figure out what “style personality” I am (apparently I’m a “Classic-Natural”) and then make a polyvore collage of our personalities. I used to think that people who made fifty billion polyvore collages were crazy, but now I understand how completely addicting it can be. I had fun trying to find clothing that emulates what I actually wear. (That’s even my purse! Except mine is grey.)

This week’s homework is to shop in your own closet. So basically, you try to make new outfits out of existing clothes in a short amount of time, take photos, choose your favourite and accessorize it. I usually end up wearing the same outfits over and over, so I knew it was going to be a bit challenging for me to try new and different pairings.

Through this exercise, I realized that I am a fairly conservative dresser – not much crazy stuff over here. I also discovered that many of my clothes no longer fit as I’ve lost weight – I know I shouldn’t complain about that – so that added an extra degree of difficulty in creating outfits. I also didn’t make any casual outfits as I’ve pretty much worn almost every combination of t-shirt/sweater/jeans or yoga pants I own. Besides, it was fun to try to be creative with the part of my wardrobe I haven’t worn in a while given I’m not working an office job.

Here are the twenty outfits I managed to put together in my 30 minutes. Note to self that taking photos on my red duvet cover was probably not the best idea. Oh well!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided to try (try being the operative term ;) ) to accessorize the light teal patterned skirt with teal sweater. I couldn’t decide whether I liked it better with collared shirt or t-shirt – what do you think? I added a necklace and earrings and chosen to wear my beige kitten heels. (I’m not a huge accessories person – can you tell?)


It may not be immediately noticeable, but I did pin back the sweater to make it appear more flattering for the photos. Obviously, I can’t do this in real life without it being rather weird, so do any of you have any ideas how I could wear this sweater so it isn’t super baggy?

So, are you a style maven and have no difficulty creating cute and stylish outfits or are you like me and don’t really have a clue?

5 Comments

Filed under Life

5 responses to “Shopping in my Closet

  1. You have some seriously cute clothes! I LOVE that white jacket with the ruffles and the rosette! I like the outfit you’ve put together and accessorized, teal is a good color for you. I think it looks great with the white colared shirt and without it :)

    As far as your sweater goes, it would look great with a skinny belt like this one.

  2. I like the outfits you put together! I’m somewhat of a mix between having a sense of style and not having a clue. I like bright, bold and ridiculous items and tend to throw them all together–I get compliments, but it may just be because people are too blinded/confused to realize what I’m actually wearing :)

  3. Pingback: Fashion Blogger Feature: Karla’s Closet « Raymond Lee Jewelers Blog

  4. gosh havent done a single in Emily’s blog. huhu… my wardrobe is very limited now. i only have very few dresses, skirts and blouses. like clothes enough for 2 weeks. haha.. i hope to get a bit of shopping on my first paycheck here. =p

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  5. Pingback: Is it generous to give up my excess? | Living the Life You Were Made For

Leave a Reply

