Shoot and Edit: Easter

Holy Week: possibly the most important week in the Christian Calendar as it follows through the sacrifice Jesus made for us so that we all can have new life through him. As one of my friends on facebook said:

Jesus is the only God that stepped down from his throne to kneel and wash our feet, before standing silent before us as all that is wrong in us held him on a cross. He lived the life we can not live, he died the death we should have died and he rose to life to bring us life.

As a kid, Holy Week always made me very sad and I always asked why the heck did they have to be so mean to such a great and nice guy? As I get older, I’ve started to really understand and realize what it was all for and I’m really grateful for Jesus’ sacrifice for me.

What does Holy Week mean to you?

8 Comments

Filed under Photography

8 responses to “Shoot and Edit: Easter

  1. thanks soooo much for highlighting the the true meaning of Easter!

  2. I love your interpretation of the theme this week. Nicely done.

  3. I hope you get a good time reflecting this Holy Week. For most, it’s a mere tradition, but of course in reality it’s much more than that.. For me, it’s really a time of reflection and thanksgiving to what Jesus has done on the cross.

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  4. Oh that came out beautiful with the cross & palm branch!! Holy week for us means a lot of reflection & taking the time to recognize the blessings in our lives.

  5. Holy Week is my favorite week. Sometimes you wouldn’t know that by my behavior, but it’s true. This year, it’s really kind of hit home to me how few Christians really understand the meaning behind our traditions, or even appreciate the traditions themselves. I grew up in and out of non-denominational churches which were great (don’t get me wrong) but the emphasis on independence meant a kind of subtle rejection of traditional Christianity. And now, in my more “modern” church, I’m kind of seeing that. Even though our denomination isn’t “liturgical” by nature, the traditions of Holy Week and Advent (my 2 pet peeves) should still be observed. It’s kind of a sore spot, ha!

    This is my 2nd or 3rd year here, and it’s our first Good Friday service tomorrow. I’m excited! :) Sorry to take over your comments, it’s just been something I’ve been thinking a lot about this week!

  6. I’m SO grateful!!! Great photos, and great way to showcase the theme :)

    ~Tabitha

  7. Amen to your message! Wonderful picture – wonderful message! Be blessed this Easter Week!

  8. Pingback: Shoot and Edit: Easter | Without Adornment

Leave a Reply

