Selfie Saturday – Magic Fun

Oh. My. Goodness. Who knew that taking self portraits would be so much fun? After shooting the my first clone photo (which didn’t turn out super well given that it was pretty dark and therefore SUPER grainy), I decided to try again when it was brighter and got the above photo. It was so much fun that I had to try again!

Bean in the Kitchen

If you’d like to make a clone photo, Elena has posted some instructions on how to do it. My one suggestion is to use masks instead of erasing for when you made a mistake and can no longer undo it. You can do that by using quick select (or whatever selection method you choose) to select the subject, click refine edges to smooth it out, then create a layer mask by clicking the circle within a rectangle on the layers menu. You can edit what is shown by brushing black (to hide) or white (to show) on the mask. Much nicer than having to start over if you’ve made a mistake!

Now I really want to try some of the other magic tricks Elena talked about, but I think I should wait until it’s nicer outside as there are not many places in my house that are conducive to that kind of picture taking!

If you’d like to see more selfie magic tricks, please check out this week’s roundup!

13 Comments

Filed under Photography

13 responses to “Selfie Saturday – Magic Fun

  1. Looks like you definitely had a blast doing this! Awesome blending!!!! And I did end up making a tutorial for my “magic trick” :
    http://captivusliving.blogspot.com/2011/04/how-you-make-magic-tutorial.html

    Hope it isn’t too confusing! LOL!

  2. This is great!! You did awesome!! I love how sharp and defined your edges are, I definitely struggle with that!

  3. Pam

    Great cloning. I love both pictures a lot!

  4. Wow, that is super cool! When I get a free moment, I’ll read more about this technique. Absolutely love all the self portraits of you!

    Hugs,
    Shirley

  5. So fun! I didn’t have time to crank one out this weekend. Kinda sad that I missed it. :(

  6. I love the pictures, they are so much fun!
    P.S. I spy my a clone of my kitchen! :)

  7. Clearly I was a total slacker this week- your shot ROCKS!!!!!

  8. You’re having way too much fun cloning but I love it!

  9. I put some tips up for nut butter in a comment response. I haven’t had much luck with making peanut butter at home either….maybe I used not-so-good peanuts too!

  10. ostranderblog

    OK Now I HAVE to do this again! LOL I’m loving this, before I had a simple 3 across and it was easy to use the eraser. But first I MUST clean my kitchen ;)
    Thinking this summer a clone of my daughter and her BF is going to happen teen girls are SO much fun behind a camera!

  11. I love all your clones! The knife you in the kitchen just cracks me up.
    I agree that using masks in another option and can be easier if you make mistakes. I started doing cloning using masks, but eventually graduated to the eraser with experience as I started making fewer mistakes. Masks just make a mess out of layers, and if you have lots of clones and layers, it gets confusing.

Leave a Reply

