Vegan Banana Almond Flour Pancakes

I think it’s safe to say that I’m not the only one who enjoys having breakfast for dinner. This weekend while Mr. Bean was away for work, I decided to whip up some pancakes for dinner.  Usually I use a recipe from the Celiac Teen (so good!), but I wanted to try something different. I recently acquired Elana Amsterdam’s Almond Flour Cookbook, so I thought I would try making a vegan version of her pancakes.  Instead of eggs I added a banana and an egg replacer and didn’t add any agave nectar as the banana is sweet enough. I tried my best to make 1/3 of the recipe – this makes four very filling pancakes.

I did discover something interesting: if you’re trying to reduce the amount of sugar you’re eating and don’t want the sugar rush that syrup gives you, try melting some frozen berries and using the juice as syrup! Just as tasty and way better for you! :)

Vegan Banana Almond Flour Pancakes

1 banana
1 tsp. egg replacer with 1 tbsp. + 1 tsp. rice milk, mixed until frothy
2 tbsp. water
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1/2 c. almond flour
Scant 1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 tbsp. tapioca starch
Pinch salt
Grapeseed Oil

  1. In a blender (I used my magic bullet), mix together the banana, egg replacer, water and vanilla extract for about a minute until well mixed.
  2. Add the dry ingredients and blend until well mixed.
  3. Heat up some grapeseed oil in a skillet or on a griddle over medium-low heat.
  4. Spoon a heaping tablespoon of batter onto the hot pan. Cook until small bubbles appear on the surface of the batter. Flip over and cook until browned. Note that since these do not have eggs and use almond flour, they will take longer than regular pancakes, so be patient and cook on low heat!
  5. Enjoy!

EDIT: Erin at The Spiffy Cookie baked these pancakes for roughly 15 – 20 min and they turned out really well and the centres set! Thanks Erin!

What’s your favourite breakfast for dinner?

Looking for some good recipes? Try looking at: Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays, Hearth and Soul Hop Volume 41 and Gluten-Free Wednesdays! (I’ve linked up this recipe at all of them!)

23 Comments

Filed under Food

23 responses to “Vegan Banana Almond Flour Pancakes

  1. My favorite breakfast for dinner is definitely pancakes with fruit. Pancakes are one of my very favorite foods! I grew up having pancakes for lunch and dinner, so it seemed like a very special occasion if we actually had them for breakfast!

    • When I was a kid we usually ate pancakes for lunch more so than any other meal. Despite that, I guess I still associate pancakes with breakfast foods.

  2. Kim

    Yummy! I love banana pancakes. In fact, that is probably up there with my favorite breakfast food other than french toast. :)

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I hope you’ll try the PB&J bread–my hubby loved it, and he’s picky when it comes to “healthy” foods. I hope you’ll come back again soon and become a follower! :)

  3. We are huge “brinner” people at our house and I can’t wait to try these!

  4. Michelle

    If you use *real* maple syurp, it’s actually really good for you. And since it’s not processed cane sugar, it’s safe for most diabetics. It’s great stuff :)

    • I do have some real maple syrup, but sometimes I find the sugar rush from that is a bit too much for me. (My tolerance to sugar has dropped significantly since I didn’t eat it for such a long time.) I guess in small quantities balanced with fibre and protein it should be okay. :)

  5. I love this recipe. Bananas are a great way to add flavor and sweetness to so many dishes. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Mmmm you’re picture is makin’ me want to cook pancakes.

  7. My favorite breakfast for dinner used to be some kind of turkey sausage and eggs with some sort of pancake/sweet bread-like product (usually also containing eggs!). I’m trying to get used to life without eggs and meat so this recipe would be a perfect new favorite breakfast for dinner!

    • Life without eggs, especially if you used to eat them a lot, is really hard. Mr. Bean LOVES eggs and has them for breakfast all the time, which sometimes makes me sad as I used to love having things like french toast – you can’t use egg replacer for that! haha.

      • Hi Bean – thanks for stopping by my blog. I am a big fan of nutritional yeast. It definitely helps me not miss cheese too much (I am intolerant to dairy). Regarding vegan French Toast, I have seen it made using chickpea flour to give that “egginess” – I think Ricki of Diet Dessert and Dogs has a recipe, but I have seen it elsewhere too. Maybe the book Vegan Brunch?

  8. You are right, sweetness need for the body can be get through fruits not by dumping sugar syrups. This almond flour pancake looks delicious. Thanks for linking to Hearth and Soul blog hop. A friendly reminder, can you link back either worded or picture link to Hearth and soul blog hop we will appreciate that.

  9. Pingback: The Beginning of Crystals and Gems | Hot Gemstones

  10. Pingback: Almond flour banana pancakes and a word about calorie counting. | Yogahound blog

  11. Pingback: Top 11 Recipes of 2011 | Without Adornment

  12. Sherri

    Hi Bean. I was excited to find your recipe, as I generally eat a grain-free diet, use Elana Amsterdam’s recipes frequently, and have an egg sensitivity. I followed your recipe exactly and we cooked the pancakes on low heat, but after 5 minutes a side, the outsides were prefect but the insides never cooked. On higher heat, the outsides burned and we still had mush on the insides. When you said these take longer than usual pancakes, how long did you mean, and just how low was your heat? Just wondering if there’s anything I can do to be able to make these with more speed and success. I’m not patient enough to wait 15 minutes per cake! Thanks!

    • Hi Sherri,
      Thanks for letting me know! I did the 15 – 20 minute thing to get these to cook through. This recipe is one that I want to make better, so I’ll let you know when I do! :)

  13. Pingback: Baked Banana Almond Pancakes | The Spiffy Cookie

  14. I tried these for Secret Recipe Club and I ended up baking mine cause they stuck to the pan! But they were really good baked :-)

  15. Pingback: Pumpkin Cake Pops | Burnt Apple

Leave a Reply

