Self, You Are Beautiful

Like most women, positive self image is something I struggle with. It’s hard not to compare yourself to those perfectly skinny, beautiful women who are plastered all over magazines, TV and advertisements.

In my family, from my mid-teens on I was the “fat” daughter. I was never obese, just overweight and even when I did lose 25 pounds, I was still about 10 – 20 lbs heavier that my mom and sister. Over the last year I’ve lost about another 10 lbs and even though I know am not fat, I still view myself as such and I’m constantly comparing myself to others. Add in a few zits, grey hair and few other “flaws” and it leaves me feeling very insecure and telling myself that I am hardly an attractive person.

As you might have guessed, my view of myself is determined by the world and not by God, which is how it should be. So what does God say about me?

He says that I am beautiful. I am his treasured child. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. We all have inherent worth because we are his children and he loves us.

When I saw that Jill was starting the “I am Beautiful” project, I knew this was something I wanted, no, needed to participate in it. I’m trying to change my negative self talk into something more positive: filling myself with God’s truth about what he truly thinks about me. This is just another step along that path. I hope that you’ll join us!

I’ve been watching others participate in Selfie-Saturdays, but have never worked up the courage to do it myself as I couldn’t possibly look as nice as all the other people who link up. But since I was taking photos of myself anyways, I thought I might as well try despite my inability to make “Model Eyes” (haha) because there is no reason to be ashamed of my looks – I’m good enough for God, so I am good enough for a self portrait!

I did my best to do the squinty eyes, but I guess I just can’t help but smile. :)

I pray that God will show you how beautiful you truly are – inside and out! <3

16 Comments

Filed under Life, Photography, Thoughts

16 responses to “Self, You Are Beautiful

  1. Hey, you can smile while doing the squinty eyes! That’s not a problem!
    And man, do you have a sexy look smiling! I definitely can say the squinty eyes work for you :) Great job!

  2. Some say you should compare yourself to get motivated to improve your outlook and health while some others say you shouldn’t. Personally, I don’t compare myself with others. I’m a man, though. :D

  3. Your squinty eyes are great! I never thought to put a smile with it! Beautiful post, you are so lovely!

  4. Loved this post! I’m joining the project! It’s also nice to see a gluten-free blogger that’s also passionate about God!

  5. Your pictures are beautiful =). I have the same feelings, even though I have lost about 35lbs since the beginning of college, and now at a healthy weight, I still feel like a “fat” girl. I gotta work on my self confidence as well, and remind myself that I am healthy =).
    -Katie

  6. P.S. Do you mind if we add you to our blog roll?

  7. You’ve done a beautiful job and you ARE beautiful!

  8. you are absolutely gorgeous! beautiful smile!!!

  9. Wow, Lady!!! You are beautiful!!! :) Really!!!

    And I love your words — yes, we need to form the opinion of ourselves according to how God sees us — forgiven, and perfect in his image — and not as the world sees us!!

  10. hugs and BIG smiles! YES my friend you are BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

    thank you for joining in and sharing this with your friends and family! excited to watch God change the hearts of His daughters :-D

  11. Haha, just ask my hubby about my “sexy model eyes.” Your’s are much better :)

    I can really relate to this post. I’ve always been the “fat” daughter, even though I wasn’t really overweight. My mom and sisters just spent a few days with me, and we did a lot of shopping. I found myself thinking more and more negative thoughts about myself, and I was embarrassed to even leave the dressing room to get their opinion on my outfits. It didn’t help that many of the stores didn’t have ANY normal people sizes, and my sister wears size 00. Not just 0, but 00.

    I looked through the pictures we took together yesterday, and Satan’s lies were really getting to me. Finally I turned to Brian and just said, “I feel really, really ugly, fat, and unattractive right now. Will you help me?” And he was very reassuring and helpful, as always :)

    That song is one of my very favorites! I just bought the CD and listen to it quite often. I need that reminder over and over again!

    All that to say: you’re not alone! And you ARE beautiful, and madly loved by a God who doesn’t make mistakes!

  12. Of course you are beautiful in God’s eyes, and that’s all that matters. But your pictures are gorgeous! What a beautiful smile and warm happy eyes you have. Thanks for your bravery and for sharing the message of Truth!

  13. You are so beautiful! Looking at your photos, you just seem like the kinda person that others want to be around :)

    Your post is wonderful, and I totally relate to it. My older sister is amazingly gorgeous, and for many, many years I felt like the ugly duckling

  14. I just dropped by Jill’s blog =D Such a great idea! =D

    Let me just say this from my heart.. You are beautiful, Bean!

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  15. I love love love this post! Such a great reminder to love ourselves just the way we are.

  16. Are you on Instagram? Please say yes…..

Leave a Reply

