Shoot and Edit: Yellow

As I promised, here are the edited versions of my yellow and portrait shots:

Just so you know, I haven’t had to use my anti-cold arsenal yet – I think I did use the lemon in last night’s dinner though…

Edit 1 - Sun Kissed

Edit 2 - Dated Yellow

What I did:

Sun Kissed: I followed the methodology Ashley used to create her sun-kissed photo for week 10 in the Shoot and Edit minus the sun flare.

Dated Yellow: I played around in lightroom for this one: I decreased the vibrance to -100 and increased the saturation to +100. I then upped the contrast and the black clipping. I then played around with split toning: I set the highlights to be an off yellow and the shadows to be a purple-y blue.

And now onto my assignment for my Photoshop Course: the cute Mr. A.

I edited this photo in Adobe Camera Raw for my assignment. They can also be easily done in Lightroom and most likely other photo retouching software. These are the recommended steps for quick portrait retouching:

  1. Adjust exposure and white balance as necessary.
  2. Use the spot remover to heal any spots/zits/dust/etc. Poor A was sick when I took this picture, so I did my best to remove some of the blotches and snot (sorry).
  3. Brighten up the eyes. Using the adjustment brush, use a very feathered brush with a small increase in brightness (brightness can be adjusted later) paint over and around the eye. Start a new adjustment and decrease your brush size to lighten up just the irises.
  4. Soften and smooth the skin. Using a very feathered brush, reduce the clarity and paint over the entire face. Adjust the clarity depending on gender and age. DO NOT soften lips or eyes.
  5. Sharpen important features. Using a feathered brush, sharpen the eyes and eyelashes, eyebrows, tip of nose and mouth.
  6. You’re done!

What are the most useful Photoshop tutorials you’ve found?

8 Comments

Filed under Photography

8 responses to “Shoot and Edit: Yellow

  1. Wow! Big difference in the picture of this cute little boy. Good job, Bean! =D

    http://www.theblogforbrides.com
    http://www.journeyofawoman.wordpress.com

  2. Sweet face!
    The lemons… after the first edit and I saw there was a second, I scrolled down hoping for a third… really REALLY well done!

  3. I think I prefer the dated yellow edit. Although the sun kissed edit’s vibrant colors are great too. Nice job.

  4. I love all of your edits today – they look gorgeous!

  5. Nice shots. Keep it up.
    :)
    ~Tabitha

  6. Love the first edit of the lemon! :D

    And nice job with the face edit.

  7. How creative with the lemons! Oh, I haven’t had a lemon drop in years!! Great idea.

    And what a cute “bean”!! :)

Leave a Reply

